Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development: Collection Highlights

Provides information about the collections building process for the College of Charleston libraries.

Faculty Selected New eBooks

Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, and Inclusion in Museums Cover Art
OutWrite: The Speeches that Shaped LGBTQ Literary Culture Cover Art
Entering the Way of the Bodhisattva: A New Translation and Contemporary Guide Cover Art
Common Ground: Second Language Acquisition Theory Goes to the Classroom Cover Art
Better Living by Their Own Bootstraps: Black Women's Activism in Rural Arkansas, 1914-1965 Cover Art
Ideas to Postpone the End of the World Cover Art
Managing Arts Organizations Cover Art
In the Street: Democratic Action, Theatricality, and Political Friendship Cover Art
Mexican American Religions: An Introduction Cover Art
Unauthorized Love: Mixed-Citizenship Couples Negotiating Intimacy, Immigration, and the State Cover Art
Dance, Access and Inclusion: Perspectives on Dance, Young People and Change Cover Art
Undead Souths: The Gothic and Beyond in Southern Literature and Culture Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Freedom Cover Art
Active Coral Restoration: Techniques for a Changing Planet Cover Art
The Handbook of Diverse Economies Cover Art
The Roman Peasant Project 2009-2014: Excavating the Roman Rural Poor Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Islamic Archaeology Cover Art
Lima :: Limón Cover Art
Electrify: An Optimist's Playbook for Our Clean Energy Future Cover Art
On Justice: Philosophy, History, Foundations Cover Art
The Hours Have Lost Their Clock: The Politics of Nostalgia Cover Art
Public Memory, Race, and Heritage Tourism of Early America Cover Art
Decolonizing Wealth: Indigenous Wisdom to Heal Divides and Restore Balance Cover Art
Indigenous Children's Survivance in Public Schools Cover Art
Thinking German Translation: A Course in Translation Method: German to English Cover Art

College of Charleston Faculty Author Spotlights

Inventing the Critic in Renaissance England

Inventing the Critic in Renaissance England (2020) by William Russell

In this book, Russell reveals that the critics of the English Renaissance did not passively absorb their practice from Continental and classical sources but actively invented it in response to a confluence of social and intellectual factors.

William Russell is an Associate Professor of English. Russell teaches courses on writing and early modern literature and culture, focusing primarily on poetry, classical reception, and the history of rhetoric, poetics, and literary criticism.

Victorian Visions of Suburban Utopia

Victorian Visions of Suburban Utopia: Abandoning Babylon (2020) by Nathaniel Robert Walker

In this book, Walker asks: why did we abandon our dense, complex urban places and seek to find "the best of the city and the country" in the flowery suburbs? While looking back at the architecture and urban design of the 1800s offers some answers, Walker argues that a great missing piece of the story can be found in Victorian utopian literature.

Nathaniel Robert Walker is an Associate Professor of Architectural History. Walker specializes in the history of public space such as squares and streets, and the ways in which architecture has been drafted into the social and political power systems that alternatively divide or unite people across the jagged, intersecting lines of race, gender, religion, class, etc.

The Filth Disease Book Cover

The Filth Disease: Typhoid Fever and the Practices of Epidemiology in Victorian England (2020) by Jacob Steere-Williams

This book provides a striking reminder of the cultural context in which infectious diseases strike populations and how scientists study them.

Jacob Steere-Williams is an Associate Professor of History. Steere-Williams is a historian of epidemic disease, particularly in nineteenth and early-twentieth century Britain and the former British colonies.

Carolina's Golden Fields Book Cover

Carolina's Golden Fields: Inland Rice Cultivation in the South Carolina Lowcountry, 1670-1860 (2019) by Hayden Smith

This book examines the environmental and technological complexity of South Carolina inland rice plantations from their inception at the turn of the 17th century to the brink of their institutional collapse at the eve of the Civil War.

Hayden Smith is an Adjunct Professor of History. Smith's research examines the intersection of environment, technology, and culture, with a particular focus in the South Carolina Lowcountry and broader American South.

Borders in Mathematics Pre-Service Teacher Education Book Cover

Borders in Mathematics Pre-Service Teacher Education (2020) by Nenad Radakovic & Limin Jao

This book examines the current state of the field of mathematics pre-service teacher education through the theme of borders. Borders are ubiquitous; they can be used to define, classify, organize, make sense of, and/or group.

Nenad Radakovic is an Assistant Professor of Teacher Education. Radakovic's research interests include mathematics and social justice, pedagogy of risk, transdisciplinary mathematics education, mathematics teacher education, and technology in mathematics education.

Carrying on the Tradition Book Cover

Carrying on the Tradition: A Social and Intellectual History of Hadith Transmission Across a Thousand Years (2020) by Garrett Davidson

This title examines the conception of hadith faith transmission following the emergence of the hadith canon, tracing the development of its institutions and practices from the tenth to the twentieth century.

Garrett Davidson is an Assistant Professor of Arabic and Muslim World Studies. Davidson's research interests include issues related to constructs of religious and scholarly authority in the Islamic tradition, hadith, the Arabic manuscript tradition, Islamic reform movements of the twentieth century and Islamic mysticism in the Early Modern and Modern periods.

First in the South Book Cover

First in the South: Why South Carolina's Presidential Primary Matters (2020) by Gibbs Knotts & Jordan Ragusa

In this book, Knotts and Ragusa make the case for shifting the national focus to South Carolina because of its clarifying and often-predictive role in selecting presidential nominees for both the Republican and Democratic Parties. Succinct and accessible, this title is a glimpse behind the curtain of the often-mysterious presidential primary process.

Gibbs Knotts is a Professor of Political Science and Dean of the School of Humanities and Social Sciences. Knotts research interests include political participation, southern politics, public administration, and the scholarship of teaching and learning. Jordan Ragusa is an Associate Professor of Political Science. Ragusa's research focuses on the U.S. Congress, with specific interests on the effect(s) of political parties, polarization, and legislative organization on roll-call behavior and the policymaking process.

Congress in Reverse Book Cover

Congress in Reverse: Repeals from Reconstruction to the Present (2020) by Jordan Ragusa & Nathaniel Birkhead

This book examines when and why existing statutes are successfully "undone," arguing that repeals are most common when the parties are united on the issue - which was not the case when it came to Obamacare for the Republican Party - and the majority party wins control of Congress after a long stint in the minority. By shifting focus from the making of laws to their un-making, this title opens up a new arena for studying legislative activity in Congress.

Jordan Ragusa is an Associate Professor of Political Science. Ragusa's research focuses on the U.S. Congress, with specific interests on the effect(s) of political parties, polarization, and legislative organization on roll-call behavior and the policymaking process.

Geophysical Phenomena and the Alexandrian Littoral (2019) by Niki Evelpidou

This book provides an extensive background on the geomorphology and recent geoarchaeolgical history of Alexandria, discussing historical maps and natural disasters.

Niki Evelpidou is a Faculty Affiliate of Geology and Environmental Geosciences. Evelpidou's research fields include geomorphology, coastal geomorphology, sea level changes, paleogeography, geology, spatial technologies, and study and modelling of natural hazards.

The Labyrinths of Love Book Cover

The Labyrinths of Love: On Psyche, Soul, and Self-Becoming (2019) by Lee Irwin

This book is an interdisciplinary examination of the self, psyche, and soul, providing a comparative analysis from religious, paranormal research and transpersonal theory perspectives.

Lee Irwin is a Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies. Irwin's specialization is comparative religions of Native North America (including Maya and Aztec) and shamanism of Asia and Siberia.

The Man of the Crowd Book Cover

The Man of the Crowd: Edgar Allan Poe and the City (2020) by Scott Peeples

This title challenges the popular conception of Poe as an isolated artist living in a world of his own imagination, detached from his physical surroundings. The Poe who emerges here is a man whose outlook and career were shaped by the cities where he lived, longing for a stable home.

Scott Peeples is a Professor of English. Peeple's research interests include nineteenth-century American literature and culture, Edgar Allen Poe, and gothicism.

Maroons and the Marooned Book Cover

Maroons and the Marooned: Runaways and Castaways in the Americas (2020) by Richard Bodek & Joe Kelly

This volume brings together literary scholars with historians, encompassing both literal maroons such as in Brazil and South Carolina as well as metaphoric scenarios in time-travel novels and post-apocalyptic narratives. This volume gives these maroons proper credit, at the very heart of American history.

Richard Bodek is a Professor of History. Bodek's research and teaching interests roam widely from science fiction to detective fiction to popular culture to radical politics to violence. Joe Kelly is a Professor of English. Kelly's research interests include modern British literature, Irish literature, biography, and South Carolina history.

New Essays on Eudora Welty, Class, and Race Book Cover

New Essays on Eudora Welty, Class, and Race (2020) edited by Harriet Pollack

These essays freshly consider such topics as Welty’s uses of African American signifying in her short stories and her attention to public street performances interacting with Jim Crow rules in her unpublished photographs. They compare her handling of whiteness and race to other works by such contemporary writers as William Faulkner, Richard Wright, Toni Morrison, Chester Himes, and Alice Walker. Discussions of race and class here also bring her masterwork The Golden Apples and her novel Losing Battles, underrepresented in earlier conversations, into new focus.

Harriet Pollack is an Affiliate Professor of American Literature. Pollack writes about the body in southern literature and photography in the contexts of southern history and cultural trauma.

Off the Derech

Off the Derech: Leaving Orthodox Judaism (2020) by Ezra Cappell & Jessica Lang

This volume tells the powerful stories of people abandoning their religious communities and embarking on uncertain journeys towards new lives and identities within mainstream society.

Ezra Cappell is a Professor of Jewish Studies. Cappell has previous written about the cultural work of Jewish American fiction.

Unexpected Book Cover

Unexpected: Parenting, Prenatal Testing, and Down Syndrome (2021) by Alison Piepmeier, George Estreich, and Rachel Adams

Based on interviews with parents of children with Down syndrome, as well as women who terminated their pregnancies because their fetus was identified as having the condition, this title paints an intimate, nuanced picture of reproductive choice in today's world. Piepmeier takes us inside her own daughter's life, showing how Down syndrome is misunderstood, stigmatized, and condemned, particularly in the context of prenatal testing.

Alison Piepmeier was a Professor of Women's and Gender Studies. Piepmeier was known for her research on third wave feminist activism.

View our collection of College of Charleston faculty and staff publications at this link.

New Books

New Databases