Charleston Archive at the Charleston County Public Library - an archive of historic manuscripts, books and visual materials representing Charleston and the surrounding Lowcountry.
Charleston Library Society - a cultural institution for life-long learning, serving its members, the Lowcountry community and scholars through access to its rich collection of books, manuscripts and archival material and programs.
Margaretta Childs Archives, Historic Charleston Foundation - a collection of property files, photographs, architectural drawings, books, pamphlets, technical reports, and videos pertaining to architecture, historic preservation, Charleston and South Carolina history, archaeology, building arts, decorative arts, and gardens.
South Carolina Historical Society - the state's largest private repository of manuscripts and heritage resources. Housed in the Addlestone Library at the College of Charleston.
South Carolina Room at the Charleston County Public Library - houses local history and genealogy materials and resources. The mission is to collect, preserve and make accessible those materials focusing on the history and genealogy of South Carolina, with special emphasis on Charleston and the Lowcountry.
Waring Historical Library, the Medical University of South Carolina is the special collections and rare book library for the Medical University of South Carolina. Named for Joseph I. Waring, Jr., the first director of the Historical Library, the library houses books, journals, manuscript items and museum artifacts dealing with the history of the health sciences.
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History is an independent state agency whose mission is to preserve and promote the documentary and cultural heritage of the Palmetto State. The department houses one of the most comprehensive state archival collections in the nation, spanning more than 325 years of South Carolina history.
The South Carolina Digital Library provides free access to historic materials, such as photographs, manuscripts, journals, books, oral histories, objects, etc. illustrating the history and culture of South Carolina from over 40 cultural heritage institutions across the state. Over 200,000 items have been added so far.
The South Carolina State Documents Depository provides access to publications produced by state agencies and state-supported academic institutions. These publications provide citizens with crucial information about state government, including statistics, annual accountability reports, and data on a wide variety of topics related to the state.
Utilizing the CHM’s library, archives, and historical collections, the Institute fills a void in Revolutionary War studies and scholarly resources, which traditionally have concentrated on the Northern campaigns of the American Revolution. The institute is the only center exclusively dedicated to the study of the Revolution in the Southern states of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, and Tennessee.
The Kennedy Room of Local and South Carolina History and Cleveland Genealogy Department houses an extensive collection of source material for genealogy and history researchers.The materials’ focus is on Spartanburg County but also includes South Carolina and regional information.