Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is accessible only to College of Charleston students, alumni, faculty, and staff, Friends of the Library, PASCAL visiting patrons, or those with appointments for services offered in the library. Cougar Cards, Alumni cards, FOL cards, PASCAL institution IDs, or appointment emails are required for entry. Virtual services are available at answers.library.cofc.edu
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full-text journals and magazines, thousands of peer-reviewed journals, access to over 1,400 journals without an embargo, over 2,000 journals indexed in Web of Science and Scopus, and more.
Eighteenth-Century Fiction This link opens in a new window
A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts in over 40 languages to historical literature (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
Irish Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Irish Historical Newspapers contains 15 essential newspapers from the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland spanning more than 250 years from 1738 to 2004.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Nineteenth-Century Fiction (LION) This link opens in a new window
A collection of British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903.
Victorian Women Writer's Project This link opens in a new window
Database of full text works by British women writers of the 19th century.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of thousands of records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
British Records on the Atlantic World, 1700- 1900 This link opens in a new window
This series brings together a wealth of collections spanning two centuries of Britain's colonization, commercial, missionary and even literary relations with Africa and the Americas.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Early English Books Online is provided by the funding and support of the College of Charleston Friends of the Library.
Early English Prose Fiction This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 200 works from the period 1500–1700, exploring the rich diversity of prose fiction in English in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form.
English Drama This link opens in a new window
A unique collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
English Poetry, Second Edition This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive archive of English verse available. Offers representation both of the literary heritages of former colonial countries and of the poetic legacies of English writers who have only recently been brought back to scholarly attention.
The Times (London), 1985 to present This link opens in a new window
Provides United Kingdom news, world news, business news and current events.
The Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window
A searchable, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history, detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. Unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words past and presentfrom across the English-speaking world.
Twentieth-Century English Poetry (LION) This link opens in a new window
Major collection of hundreds of English poets from 1900 to the present day.
College Quick Links