Skip to Main Content
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
The Lowcountry Digital Library digitizes and makes accessible unique local resources. In order to provide a well rounded digital collection, the library works with partner institutions in a collaborative manner to ensure the overall quality of the digital library. Moreover, it provides professional training and support for archive, library, and museum professionals throughout the region.
The Lowcountry Digital Library documents the history and culture of the region while it supports current research initiatives and cultivates creative content and digital information in appropriate formats across disciplines in support of scholarly inquiry.
In the Archives
Here is a sampling of our records.
This list is by no means comprehensive.
John Bennett Papers
Papers consist of correspondence, research notes, writings, artwork, photographs, and other items. Included are the papers of Susan S. Bennett, John H. Bennett, and the Smythe family.
Josephine Pinckney Papers
Papers chiefly consist of writings, correspondence, and printed material. Charleston, S.C. author. She gained recognition as a poet with the publication of "Sea-Drinking Cities" in 1927 and turned to prose in 1940 with "Hilton Head," a novel about Dr. Henry Woodward, the first English settler of South Carolina.
DuBose Heyward Papers
Papers of DuBose Heyward chiefly consist of writings and correspondence. Also included are the papers of Jane Screven Heyward (1882-1940), the Heyward family (1783-1936), the DuBose family (ca. 1790-1904), and the Screven family (1833-1932).
Mamie E. Garvin Fields Papers
Mamie Elizabeth Garvin Fields (1888-1987) was an African-American educator, civic and religious activist born in Charleston, South Carolina. Fields was an influential leader in the South Carolina African-American women's club movement. A culmination of Fields' life is detailed in her memoir, Lemon Swamp and Other Places, co-written with her granddaughter, Karen Fields.
Research on the Cigar Factory
Includes notes, clippings, two audio cassettes, and other items pertaining to 106 Drake Street (later 701 East Bay Street) in Charleston. Research includes material concerning strikes by cigar factory workers, and the origins of the song "We Shall Overcome" as a protest song, as well as an interview with Isaiah Bennett, a former employee and union leader at the cigar factory.
Special Collections and SC Historical Society Archives
South Carolina Historical Society Archives
College Quick Links