Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Using an Encyclopedia as a Background Source
The purpose of an encyclopedia is to provide basic information about a topic.
Within the article, you should encounter important terms, the names of notable people, and background information on the topic. This can help you establish a foundation for your research.
Where possible, use the bibliography at the end of an encyclopedia article.
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture
Multi-volume encyclopedia series covering a variety of topics related to southern culture and life.
South Carolina Encyclopedia
Consisting of almost 2000 entries with more than 1100 digital assets, the Digital South Carolina Encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference source of the people, places, events, things, achievements, and ideals that have contributed to the evolution of the Palmetto State.
The Charleston Renaissance (print) by
The Charleston Renaissance chronicles a dynamic period of Southern history, detailing the artistic legacy of native and national artists whose collective image-making led to Charleston's transformation from a faded Southern capital to a premier tourist destination.
Renaissance in Charleston: Art and life in the Carolina lowcountry, 1900-1940 (print) by
Beginning in 1920 and continuing through World War II, the city of Charleston, South Carolina, underwent an unprecedented cultural revival. The city's literary, artistic, and institutional flowering both anticipated and helped precipitate similar movements that collectively came to be known as the Southern Renaissance. This volume reveals the richness and complexity of the Charleston Renaissance and its place among wider trends and events of the day.
Denmark Vesey's Garden (ebook) by
This timely book reveals the deep roots of present-day controversies and traces them to the capital of slavery in the United States: Charleston, South Carolina, where almost half of the slaves brought to the United States stepped onto our shores, where the first shot at Fort Sumter began the Civil War, and where Dylann Roof murdered nine people at Emanuel A.M.E. Church, which was co-founded by Denmark Vesey, a black revolutionary who plotted a massive slave insurrection in 1822.
Explorations in Charleston's Jewish History (print) by
Documented as part of the Lowcountry since the 1690s, Charleston Jews have contributed to the region, the nation and the world. In 1800, the city boasted the largest and wealthiest Jewish population in the country, and Charleston has been continually shaped by this significant group of men and women, both religious and secular, humble and heroic. Here are their stories--both old and new--all intermixed with tales of historic buildings, congregations, religious movements and cemeteries.
College Quick Links