Skip to main content

Circulation Services: Student Services

These technology reserve items can be checked out when available by students with good-standing circulation accounts. Follow the linked 

MacBook Airs

iPads

Battery Packs

Calculators (graphing and scientific)

Other

  • cellphone chargers  
  • laptop chargers
  • iPods
  • Kindles
  • digital cameras
  • projectors
  • various cords and adapters
  • USB microphone
  • hard drives
  • DVD drives 

Collaborative Study Rooms are located on the second and third floors of Addlestone Library. They may be reserved for groups of three or more students. 

To reserve:

  • The Study Room Reservations link is located on the Services menu on the library website, or use the button below. Use your @g.cofc.edu email address to make the reservation.
  • After making a reservation, check your email for a confirmation link. You must confirm with this link within 30 minutes to complete your reservation. This email contains your study room number.
  • CofC students may reserve 2 hours per day, up to 3 days per week. 

Additional information:

  • Each study room contains a whiteboard, table, and seating for about 6 students. You can check out dry erase markers at the Circulation Desk on the first floor.
  • All of the study rooms are unlocked and are available on a first come, first serve basis. Groups or individuals are allowed to go into the rooms without a reservation but must leave when a group comes with valid proof of a reservation.
  • These rooms are for course-related, library purposes only; they are not available for clubs, recreation, regularly scheduled meetings, or campus departmental business with faculty for office hours.
  • Study rooms are not soundproof! Please be respectful of the building and of other people in the library.  Inappropriate behavior in the study rooms is not allowed. 
  • Food and uncovered drinks are not allowed in the group study rooms.
  • Library policy for Collaborative Study Rooms

 

If you have any questions or concerns regarding Collaborative Study Rooms, our policies, or the online reservation system, please contact the Circulation Desk at circle@cofc.edu or 953-8001.

Print

Printing can be performed from any of the 250 lab computers using one's 300 page print allocation.  This account is refreshed at the beginning of each semester for a total of 900 free prints per year.  Due to limitations of the software the number of free prints can't be changed without changing the number of free prints for everyone at the College.

Mobility print is a service where you can print from your computer and pick up the print job in the Addlestone Library computer lab.  You will need to download the client software or install the printer on your computer in order to do this, for more information please go to the student computing support blog.

Copy

Copiers: There are two black and white copiers and one color copier on the first floor of the library. They accept change, bills, or Cougar Cash (not dining dollars). The color copier and one of the black and white copiers are located in the computer lab on the first floor, and the other black and white copier is located in the room on the 1st floor to the right of Starbucks. All of these copiers can be programmed to scan and send a copy to College email addresses at no charge. Black and white copies are $0.10 per page, and color copies are $0.35 per page and come on heavier stock paper. 

Scan

Kic Walk-up Scanners

The Addlestone Library has 2 document scanning kiosks (known as the Knowledge Imaging Center or KIC) located in the Library’s first-floor copy room, beside Starbucks and an ADA-compliant KIC in the center of the computer lab. The KIC walk-up kiosk scanner provides fast, convenient scanning of all types of documents. The KIC features intuitive touch screen controls for easy use. Documents are saved either to a USB flash drive or sent to an email account. The environmentally friendly KIC allows users to read documents electronically without the need to print them out. One can even save scanned documents in audio format, which can be played back on any portable digital audio device.

Unlike traditional desktop scanners and copiers, KIC’s unique design uses a V-cradle scanning bed so documents remain completely untouched by the scanner’s image capturing lens. The V-cradle preserves book bindings and is excellent for older, fragile books. The scanner is capable of scans up to 17 X 24 inches, or as small as a postage stamp, and scans in vibrant color or black & white. It’s ten times faster than a traditional copier and four times faster than a desktop scanner. Documents are saved in multiple formats (including searchable PDF, JPEG, TIFF, PNG, and MP3 audio files) in a matter of seconds. The KIC scanner is a UDSA compliant digitization system.

Microform Scanner 

We have 2 Scanpro 2000 digital microform scanners which allow patrons to scan and manipulate digital images from microfilm or microfiche. With these devices, poor quality images from microfilm can be enhanced, lightened or darkened, cropped and either emailed, printed using one's 300-page print allocation or purchased at .05 using your cougar card.  These scanners are located to the right of the Information desk in the Computer lab, as you approach CSL.  For assistance using the microform scanner, please see the Information desk.

Renew

Renewals can be facilitated through your My Library Account or at the Circulation Desk, in-person, or by phone (843) 953-8001.

Most items may be renewed two times, with the exception of reserve items, books from the browsing collection, and books that have a hold on them. If items are overdue, it must be returned and all associated fined paid before renewing. 

Hold Procedure

The Circulation Desk will hold library books (not personal items) for up to 5 days under the requesting patron’s name. This service is useful when you don't have your Cougar Card for checkout, or if you only want to books from our collection in the building.

Search Procedure

Items listed as available that patrons are unable to locate may be subject to a formal search. Patrons are encouraged to visit the Circulation desk and have them do a brief check for the missing item.  If they are unable to quickly locate the item, patrons are encouraged to leave contact information and the latest date the material is needed, so that if it is located by then, it will be held for that patron.

Course Reserve Items

Your professor may put materials on reserve at any time during the semester and will be shelved by the professor's last name. The following types of materials may be placed on reserve: cataloged books, manuscripts, photocopied material, computer printouts, tapes, microforms, maps, collections of materials for classroom study, and other materials for classroom study or college use.

Course Reserve Loan Periods

  • 2 hours/library use only (most common)
  • 2 hour/overnight – These materials may be checked one hour before closing and must be returned one hour after opening the following day.
  • 4 hour – These are usually DVDs or other media that are over 2 hours in duration and require more time to view.
  • One Day
  • Three Day
  • Seven Day
  • Other time periods may be set

To view current course reserves go here: http://libcat.cofc.edu/screens/course.html 

Please see the Reserve Policy for more details.

If CofC Libraries does not have or provide access to what you need, you can request materials from other libraries through two services, PASCAL and traditional interlibrary loan (ILL). See the Interlibrary Loan for Students guide for more information.

Loading ...

Ask Us!

Need Help LibChat

My Library Account - click to view a list of and renew your current College and PASCAL books.

Today's Hours

6 Hour Laptop Availability

3 Day Laptop Availability

Contact Us

Circulation and Shelving Department

843-953-8001

Brandon Lewter
Access Services Coordinator

(843) 953-4982

Will Breard
Circulation and Shelving Manager 

(843) 953-8004

Library Directory