Skip to main content

Scholars Studio: Finalize, Export, Distribute & Make Accessible

x

Decorative ButtonFinalize your Project & Export Movie

If you are creating a video project for class you may be asked to upload the file to OAKS, bring it to class to show in a classroom, or upload it to a social media service (i.e., YouTube, Dropbox, Google Drive). In these cases, it is best to export your project to a medium file size that can be transported or uploaded. 

iMovie

  1. Select Share > Export Movie
  2. Select Medium > Name your export file > select the file extension .mp4 > Save in your Movie Folder > Click Export 
  3. Copy the exported file to your Google Drive, a flash drive, CD/DVD-R, or Dropbox account)

Shotcut 

  1. Coming Soon!

   

Decorative ButtonWatch your Video

After you export your video project, you will want to watch it before you turn it in or play it for others.  Each computer uses different software to view files and some files require very specific video players.

  • A great, open source media player that will play most file types is VLC Media Player.  VLC is available in most College technology rooms.  VLC can be downloaded and installed on most computers.  For more information and download, visit: http://www.videolan.org/vlc/index.html
     

Decorative ButtonMake your Movie Accessible

What are Captions?

Bill Stark provides an excellent definition and overview for captioning video in his Caption it Yourself Basic Guide for Busy Teachers, Families, and Others Who Shoot Their Own Video.

"If you upload video to the Web, and that video includes sound, you should always include a text alternative, such as captions. As an added bonus, since most captioning for the Web relies on text, providing captions for your videos will ensure that they are indexed by search engines more quickly and accurately, meaning your video will reach more people. Captions (sometimes called “subtitles”) are the textual representation of a video’s soundtrack. They are critical for viewers who are deaf or hard of hearing, and they are also a great tool for improving the reading and listening skills of others."

Resources for Captioning

YouTube

  • YouTube: Making Videos Accessible the Easy Way!: This video tutorial demonstrates YouTube's built in capabilities to caption videos easily by typing video transcripts directly into the YouTube interface and using the automatic timing feature. 

Programs

  • MovieCaptioner is a software program designed to add captions to videos.  It allows for multiple caption export files.  College of Charleston has a site license for Movie Captioner. The software is free for all faculty, staff and students. Instruction on how to download the software are available on the Help & Training tab in My Charleston (bottom center of the page).
  • Creating Captions Using Movie Captioner Tutorial: This video tutorial from Teaching, Learning & Technology takes you through the process of using Movie Captioner software to caption your videos.
  • Kaltura MediaSpace: Adding Closed Captions to a Media File: This video tutorial from Teaching, Learning & Technology takes you through the process of attaching caption created in Movie Captioner to uploaded videos in Kaltura (a Youtube-like, online media area specifically for College of Charleston faculty, staff and students). To learn more about Kaltura, review the Distribution section of this guide.

Web Services & Crowdsourced Transcription

Decorative ButtonTurn In/Distribute your Movie

Check with your professor to find out if you need to upload your video project file to OAKS, bring it to class to show in a classroom, or upload it to a social media service (GoogleDrive/Dropbox).  Below are a few places to find and share video at the College of Charleston and on the web.

Video Publishing Online

  • Kaltura MediaSpace is a Youtube-like, online media area specifically for College of Charleston faculty, staff and students.  Unlike other media servers on campus Kaltura is available to students so it can be used to upload video projects.  Faculty can use it to upload tutorials, online lectures or any original work.
  • Critical Commons is a public media archive and fair use advocacy network that supports the transformative reuse of media in scholarly and creative contexts. It is an online platform for viewing, tagging, sharing, annotating curating and spreading media. Critical Commons goal is to build open, informed communities around media-based research, teaching, learning and creativity. Critical Commons is not affiliated in any way with Creative Commons.
  • G+ Hangouts: Review the "Creating and Participating in Google+ Hangouts" tutorial from Teaching, Learning and Technology to learn more about participating in and recording G+ Hangouts sessions. All students have a Gmail account automatically created for them when they enroll at the College.  
  • YouTube is one of the most popular online video search engines. YouTube is a community just as much as it is a video search engine. Once logged in, you can upload videos, save your favorite videos, comment on videos, create subscriptions to particular users and tags, and create and join groups of common interest. You can also publish videos "privately," which only allows individuals with the URL to view the video.
  • Vimeo is a video search engine community with over 45,000 registered users. Vimeo provides a very clean interface that is fast and very easy to use.
  • uStream allows users to broadcast video LIVE to the world from a computer, mobile or iPhone in minutes, or watch thousands of shows from News to Entertainment to celebrities, 24/7.

Other Production Resources @the Library

Decorative ButtonThe One Button Studio

The One Button Studio (OBS) is a simple, easy to use video recording lab located at Addlestone Library, Room 136, adjacent to the Circulation Desk. The Studio is equipped with lights, audio, and cameras and can be used by College of Charleston students, faculty, and staff to practice and record presentations without video production experience. 

The One Button Studio is open during Library Hours of Operation. 

Click to Reserve the Studio

The OBS is an Open Access Room. Reservations have priority. If you are using the OBS without a valid reservation, you must leave when asked by the holder of a valid reservation. The OBS is open and available on a first come, first served basis.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding the One Button Studio, our policies, or the online reservation system, please contact the Circulation Desk at circle@cofc.edu or 953-8001.

Decorative ButtonScanning/Editing Images

KIC Scanners
The Addlestone Library has two state-of-the-art document scanning kiosks (known as the Knowledge Imaging Center or KIC) located in the Library’s first floor copy room, beside Starbucks and an ada compliant KIC in the center of the computer lab. The KIC walk-up kiosk scanner provides fast, convenient scanning of all types of documents and some image editing capabilities. The KIC features intuitive touch screen controls for easy use. Documents are saved either to a USB flash drive or sent to an email or Google Drive account. The scanner is capable of scans up to 17 X 24 inches, or as small as a postage stamp, and scans in vibrant color or black & white. Documents can be saved in a multiple formats (including searchable PDF, JPEG, TIFF, PNG, and MP3 audio files) in a matter of seconds. 

Adobe Creative Cloud
Adobe Creative Cloud is installed on all Mac computers available in Addlestone Library Classroom 120. If you use Adobe Creative Cloud in the Library classroom 120 please be aware of the following:

  • Addlestone Library Classroom 120 is only available for student use when it is not in use for scheduled instruction. Please check the calendar posted outside of the classroom for availability.
  • The computers are public computers and your files may be deleted by another user. Please backup and store all of your original files. Google Drive, available as part of your College of Charleston Gmail is a good option.

Decorative ButtonColor Printing

There is a color printer located on the first floor of the Addlestone Library which provides color copies and prints for .35 per page.

Decorative ButtonCheckout Equipment

The Addlestone Library has a variety of loanable technology available to help you with your projects including
3 digital cameras, 5 iPad Airs, 1 GoPro Camera with Accessories and 1 TB Hard Drives. For a full list of equipment and availability visit Circulation Services.

Decorative ButtonProduction Lounge

The Production Lounge is a suite of 5 Mac computers that may be reserved by College of Charleston students, faculty and staff for digital scholarship and multimedia curricular activities (photo editing, audio editing, and video production). The Production Lounge provides access to Adobe Creative Suite and computers in the Production Lounge may be reserved for up to 5 hours per day and a total of 10 hours per week. A full list of software, resources, and tutorials is available at: https://libguides.library.cofc.edu/productionlounge.

Production Lounge Reservations

Production Lounge computers are available on a first come first served basis. However, users without reservations must leave when requested
by an individual with proof of a valid reservation, i.e., a confirmation email of the reservation. Reservations have priority.  If you are using a Production Lounge computer without a valid reservation, you must leave when asked by a patron with a valid reservation. Please review the Addlestone Library Spaces policy for additional information.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding Production Lounge computers, our policies, or the online reservation system, please contact the Circulation Desk at circle@cofc.edu or 953-8001.