Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Popular web-based newspapers @ CofC
New York Times This link opens in a new window
To access The New York Times Online, College of Charleston students, faculty and staff must create an account by clicking the link above, searching for and selecting "College of Charleston" from the list, clicking "Create Account" and completing the registration using their CofC email address, and finally, verifying their accounts through the confirmation email sent by The New York Times. Once registered and verified, College of Charleston students, faculty, and staff can access The New York Times Online (NYTimes.com), including the archives (dating back to 1851), podcasts, newsletters, videos and more. Faculty and staff will need to re-verify their account annually.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Inside Higher Ed
Latest news, analysis, and services for the higher education community. This resource is freely available but requires free registration after viewing 5 articles.
Database links to individual current newspapers
Databases containing multiple current newspapers
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Current and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources including newspaper titles, newswires, web editions, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents, and other publications. Also Included in this collection are Ethnic, African American, Military, Government & Defense, South Carolina news sources image editions of The Post and Courier and The State.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive access to newspapers, broadcast transcripts, wire services, and blogs from around the globe as well as extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, and business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Database includes full-text newspapers and articles, as well as television and radio news transcripts. Provides daily news updates from popular sources.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of current newspapers and magazines from around the world.
Databases containing searchable archival newspaper content
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Encompasses diverse primary sources including 18th and 19th century newspapers, periodicals, American county histories, and more.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Web-based archive of Americana that features images and full text content from many historical newspapers.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1836-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Currently nineteen (19) South Carolina newspapers are included. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Early American Newspapers, Series I This link opens in a new window
Search or browse early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of primary source 19th century U.S. newspapers.
Civil War: Part I: A Newspaper Perspective This link opens in a new window
Coverage begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln.
The Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
A searchable, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history, detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.
New York Times (Historical: 1851-2013) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851-2013
College Quick Links