Skip to Main Content

Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.

FYSE 114: Charleston Writers (Eichelberger): Databases

Discover CofC Libraries

The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including academic/scholarly journal articles, print books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!

Advanced Discovery Search

Recommended Databases

Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Brings together book reviews (1983-present) on a wide range of topics and from a variety of sources.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time-frames.
Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content in context. Contains nearly one million biographical entries spanning history and geography. (Formerly Biography Resource Center)
Post and Courier Collection with Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Coverage for the Post and Courier: 1873 to present from NewsBank's Access World News.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
To access The New York Times Online, College of Charleston students, faculty and staff must create an account by clicking the link above, searching for and selecting "College of Charleston" from the list, clicking "Create Account" and completing the registration using their CofC email address, and finally, verifying their accounts through the confirmation email sent by The New York Times. Once registered and verified, College of Charleston students, faculty, and staff can access The New York Times Online (NYTimes.com), including the archives (dating back to 1851), podcasts, newsletters, videos and more. Faculty and staff will need to re-verify their account annually.

Research Guides

SC & Charleston Newspapers Research Guide
Lists major and minor newspapers from the colonial period through the present, along with publication dates and information on availability at CofC.
SC LGBTQ: Oral Histories, Archives, & Outreach
Resources designed to supplement SC LGBTQ: Oral Histories, Archives, & Outreach.

Historical Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
Making of America This link opens in a new window
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
South Carolina State Documents Depository This link opens in a new window
The South Carolina State Documents Depository provides access to publications produced by state agencies and state-supported academic institutions.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Last Updated: Jan 4, 2023 11:46 AM
URL: https://libguides.library.cofc.edu/fyse114_Eichelberger
Print Page

Subjects: First Year Experience

Contact

Location

College Quick Links