Home - FYSE 124: Film and Media in Israel - Ayalon - LibGuides at College of Charleston

Links for Today's Class

Library Day Activity
Library Day Survey
Please take a moment to complete this, if you didn't do it right after finishing the activity.

Plan Your Search

Research Question

What do you already know? What do you want to learn more about?

This last question should guide your searches.

Sources

What type of information do you need? This determines where you should look.

The Discovery Service includes primarily scholarly and news sources--books and eBooks, academic journal articles, newspaper and magazine articles.
If you want to focus in on a certain discipline or type of material, you could search a subject-specific database.
For social media, blogs, organization websites, and some news sources, a general web search can be the best option.

Keywords

Be flexible! You may need to try several different keyword combinations.
Think about what you are likely to get--do the terms you are using have other possible meanings? If so, you may need to add a clarifying term.

Conduct Your Search

Discovery Service

Search many databases and the library catalog at once using the Discovery Service. Find books, articles, and more.

CofC Libraries Discovery Service
The Discovery Service on the CofC Libraries homepage is a great place to start your research. It helps you quickly find relevant books and electronic resources on a subject, without having to decide which database(s) to search. You can limit your search results in a variety of ways, including date range, source type, subject, and scholarly designation. You can also search other PASCAL libraries and request materials that aren't available at CofC.

A-Z Databases

Target your search by searching a subject-specific database. Good when you need a specific type of item (like newspapers or films) or want to focus more closely on a particular discipline.

A-Z Databases List

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
To find Israeli sources, go to A-Z Source List, then search for Israel as a keyword.
Once you see the list of Israeli sources, you can click on an individual source to browse or search within that specific paper.
To search within multiple sources, check the box next to your desired selections (or check the box next to Source Name to select them all), then choose "Search Within These Selections" at the bottom.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Use Credo Reference to find background information from encyclopedias.