Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
CofC Logo

FYSE 125 Healing Journeys Around the Hispanic World -- Owens: Home

Research resources for Dr. Owens's Fall 2022 FYE course

In Today's Session We Will...

  • Understand how to find news and academic journal articles in the library Discovery Service and individual databases
  • Understand how to properly format MLA in-text and bibliographic citations
  • Learn how to find reusable images online
  • Know how to get help!

Links for Today's Class

Background Research

It can be useful to look at some reference sources (like encyclopedias) when you are beginning research on an unfamiliar topic. Typically, you would not cite these sources in a scholarly paper. Credo is a library database filled with encyclopedias and other reference works.

Individual News Resources from CofC Libraries

Your CofC email address gets you full access to the New York Times online platform, including the NYT mobile apps. 

MLA In-Text Citations and Bibliography

When you paraphrase or directly quote one of your sources in your paper, you will need to include a properly formatted in-text citation. You'll also include all your sources in a bibliography at the end of your paper.

Here is an example:

In-Text:

The cushion sea star population on Bocas del Toro, Panama, has declined due to increased tourist activity on beaches (Scott). 

Bibliography:

Scott, Blake C. "Sea Stars Disappear from Beach in Panama." HuffPost, 6 Dec. 2017, https://www.huffpost.com/entry/sea-stars-disappear-from-

_b_12788512. Accessed 8 Apr. 2020.

There are many variables in creating citations, so it's helpful to have a go-to resource for guidelines and examples. In addition to the CofC Citation Styles guide, the following guide from Columbia College offers clear, detailed guidance. 

Finding Reusable Images Online

The Internet contains millions of images, and it is usually easy to download a copy of an image for reuse in a presentation or some other project. 
Keep in mind two things:

  • Image quality: Many online images are formatted to load quickly on screen, and they may look pixilated if you enlarge them for a presentation slide or print them in a paper.
  • Copyright: While using an image in an assignment is generally allowed under educational fair use, images online are protected by copyright just like other types of creative works (books, videos, music, etc). It's good practice to provide credit (attribution) when you use someone else's image, and if you know where to look, you can search specifically for images that come with permissions to reuse them. 

Using Google Images

One way to find these images is through a Google image search. Do a regular search on Google, then click Images, or start at images.google.com

Use the Tools to find images that are high quality and licensed for reuse:

  • Click Size and select Large
  • Click Usage Rights and select the best one for your purposes. Labeled for Reuse with Modification offers the most flexibility.

Google Image Search Tools

Other Places to find Images

Creative Commons license - WikipediaMany of the images online that can be freely reused have something called a Creative Commons license. Look for the CC logo as you are searching. There are different types of CC licenses, but all of them allow you to use a CC-licensed work for noncommercial purposes (like education), as long as you credit the person who created it.

Try some of the following sites to find high-quality, reusable images licensed with Creative Commons or similar open licenses.

Online Maps

Your FYE Librarian

Profile Photo
Gretchen Scronce
she/her/hers
Contact:
Addlestone Library, Room 101
843.953.5855

Citation Styles Guide

How to Cite

Learn how to cite your sources in MLA, APA, and other styles.

Citation Styles Guide

Configure Google Scholar with CofC Libraries

Connect Google Scholar to CofC Libraries to enjoy efficient access to subscription journal articles that you find in Google Scholar searches.

How to Configure

Contact

Location