Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Discover CofC Libraries
The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including academic/scholarly journal articles, print books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!
Search for and evaluate books, articles, and media to help with your assignments.
Start your Research
Limit your Search by Domain
In Google, you can limit your search by any domain or website.
By Domain Example: indian boarding school site:.gov
By URL Example: chinese exclusion act site:https://www.nytimes.com
Remember the strategies you learned with the librarian:
When using library resources, like the Discover tool or the suggested library databases, use the filters to the left of the screen.
Remember you can filter by many things, but for this class, most useful is:
- Resource Type,
Remember that the suggested databases might not be the most valuable to you. You will identify useful journal titles and databases as you dig deeper into the research.
Use the Boolean OR for synonyms, or for your authors:
Zitkala-Sa OR Gertrude Bonnin Simmons
Sui Sin Far OR Edith Maude Eaton
Use the Boolean AND to limit and refine your search.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full-text journals and magazines, thousands of peer-reviewed journals, access to over 1,400 journals without an embargo, over 2,000 journals indexed in Web of Science and Scopus, and more.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Web-based archive of Americana that features images and full text content from many historical newspapers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project Muse - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
MUSE offers complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social science.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 175 full text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Searching Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to use phrases or natural language in your search. Tie your search results into Addlestone Library resources by following these steps.
Update your Google Scholar settings to link to the College of Charleston Libraries collection.
- Go to Google Scholar, and click the three horizontal bars in the left corner to view the menu (for browser Chrome--if using another browser, look for settings).
- Click the cog icon to see Settings.
- Click Library links, and search for College of Charleston.
- Check the box next to "College of Charleston Libraries.”
- Click Save.
A View it @ CofC link will now appear next to select articles in your search results. Click on them to see if we have the articles in our collection. Note: Google Scholar includes books and book chapters as well as articles. The View it link won't work for these or for journal articles that are only available in print (not online).
College Quick Links