Skip to Main Content
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Director of Special Collections and Archives
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
The definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
An American Mosaic Online Resource. Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is both a broad and deep online database collection on African American history and culture. Providing thesis-driven, peer-reviewed scholarly essays, as well as primary source documents and classroom resources, it is a collection that taps a tremendous variety of sources essential to understanding African American history and its relation to greater U.S. history.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in Womens Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage spans from 1972 and earlier to present.
Native American Indians, 1645-1819 This link opens in a new window
Includes the most comprehensive record of Native America in the 17th, 18th, and early 19th centuries, with more than 1,500 publications of unparalleled insight into the relationship between Native American and European settlers.
Human Rights Library - University of Minnesota
Comprehensive site includes full-text documents, treaties, international agreements, and more.
Project Diana: Human Rights Cases (The Avalon Project)
The Avalon Project mounts digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
Jurisprudence: UN Human Rights
This database provides easy access to jurisprudence emanating from the United Nations Treaty Bodies which receive and consider complaints from individuals.
Human Rights Watch - Regions
Human Rights Watch defends the rights of people worldwide and is an independent, international organization that works as part of a vibrant movement to uphold human dignity and advance the cause of human rights for all.
Stop AAPI Hate
In response to the alarming escalation in xenophobia and bigotry resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, AAPI Equity Alliance (AAPI Equity), Chinese for Affirmative Action (CAA), and the Asian American Studies Department of San Francisco State University launched the Stop AAPI Hate coalition on March 19, 2020. The coalition tracks and responds to incidents of hate, violence, harassment, discrimination, shunning, and child bullying against Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in the United States.
Research and Instruction Librarian
Subject Specific Resources
College Quick Links