Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 336: Italian Renaissance (Jones): Home

Course Guide for Elisa Jones' History 336: Italian Renaissance, Fall 2020

HIST 336: Italian Renaissance


This course is an examination of the cultural, social, and political developments of the Renaissance in Italy and its impact on the rest of Europe. Topics will include the Italian city-states, despots and republics, humanism from Petrarch to Machiavelli, Papal Rome, and Renaissance art and architecture. This course examines how the Renaissance relates to the educational, artistic, mercantile, financial, religious, social, and political upheavals in Italy and Europe from the thirteenth to the sixteenth centuries.  Additionally, this course explores what the Renaissance was on its own terms and the role this self-definition has played in our comprehension of both the past and the present.

Introduction to Archival Research

Archival research involves primary sources held in an archives, a Special Collections library, or other repository. Archival sources can be manuscripts, documents, records (including electronic records), images, artifacts, recorded sound or moving images, or other materials. This guide includes resources and instructions for defining primary sources, developing archival research strategies, locating and citing archival materials, and understanding essential aspects of archival theory and practice. 

Archival Silence

About Special Collections

Special Collections Entrance

The Special Collections Department of the College of Charleston was founded to support the teaching and learning mission of the College of Charleston and to promote scholarship on the South Carolina Lowcountry and the broader Atlantic World. It is located on the third floor of the Marlene and Nathan Addlestone Library. Its holdings include over 600 manuscript collections related to the history and culture of the South Carolina Lowcountry, the archives of the College of Charleston, the Spoleto Festival Archives, and more than 40,000 rare books and pamphlets.

Mission
The primary mission of Special Collections is to evaluate, acquire, organize, preserve, and make available regionally significant and/or rare printed and archival materials to support the college curriculum and student, faculty, and patron research.  Special Collections faculty and staff are committed to utilizing a collaborative, multi-faceted approach in support of that mission and are dedicated to employing established best practices to enhance access to our collections.

Vision
Special Collections envisions itself as an incubator for research through the stewardship of and access to the diverse histories of our institution, communities, and beyond. We encourage curiosity, enhance discovery, stimulate critical thinking, and provide innovative and collaborative approaches to scholarship, access, and pedagogy.

Fall 2020: Virtual and Onsite Research Services

Archivist

Mary Jo Fairchild's picture
Mary Jo Fairchild
Contact:
843-953-1424
Website