Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Resources for journalists to locate information and research for reporting including public records, statistics, government agencies, policies, and issues
Journalists Toolbox of the SPJ
The following links are just a sample of site links found at the Journalist's Toolbox site
Public Records Online Directory
Good first-stop in records searching, with an image map of the U.S. to guide you in finding the records. The site is a portal to official state web sites, and those Tax Assessors’ and Recorders’ offices that have developed web sites for the retrieval of available public records over the internet. For example, some Recorders’ offices have marriage and birth records available online. Although not every county
Documenting COVID-19 is a repository of searchable documents related to the COVID-19 pandemic obtained through state open-records laws and the Freedom of Information Act. Click on a state for details about the 275 record sets available as of September 7, 2021, and news coverage that have used those materials.
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Current and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources including newspaper titles, newswires, web editions, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents, and other publications. Also Included in this collection are Ethnic, African American, Military, Government & Defense, South Carolina news sources image editions of The Post and Courier and The State.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and the US Congressional Serial Set as well as thousands of scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, presidential documents, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive access to newspapers, broadcast transcripts, wire services, and blogs from around the globe as well as extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, and business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States This link opens in a new window
The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States contains material that was compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration. It includes volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton. The material is presented in chronological order.
Open US Government Sites
govinfo This link opens in a new window
GPO's official system for Federal information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. Provides free online access to official Federal Government publications.
usa.gov This link opens in a new window
U.S. government's official web portal, providing free, searchable, online access to federal, state, local, territorial, and tribal government.
College Quick Links