Skip to Main Content
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Search CofC Libraries Discovery Service
Search for books, articles, and more.
Online Journals and Websites
One of the top peer-reviewed journals in the field. CofC provides access to the full text of most articles. The most recent 4 years are not available online but CofC Libraries has them in print.
Latin American Music Review | Revista de música latinoamericana
One of the top peer-reviewed journals in the field. CofC provides access to the full text of articles from 1980 - present.
The following peer-reviewed journals are available freely online (open access). Most articles are in English, Spanish, or Portuguese, with a few articles in French or Catalan.
General Interest (not scholarly):
Good blog for current articles on Latinx music and pop culture.
Configure Google Scholar
By adding CofC Libraries to your Google Scholar settings, you can more easily get to full text for articles we have access to. Note: This may not "stick" unless you enable cookies in your browser settings.
Streaming Music Collections
Streaming Video Collections
Look in these collections for documentaries or feature films related to your topic.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Features primarily educational films and documentaries, including many on topics related to music, dance, and culture around the world.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Vast collection of films in all genres and topics.
Beginning Your Research with Reference Sources
Some of the background resources below are available online, some in print, and some are available in both formats. Click on a specific title to see the contents of just that book. Your search results will include the title of the encyclopedia or reference book the article came from.
Credo Reference and Oxford Music Online are library databases containing encyclopedia articles and other brief refererence entries.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Librarian-curated collection of award-winning reference works with extensive subject coverage.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Leading online scholarly resource for music research, offering the full texts of major music dictionaries. Includes Grove Music Online. Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Popular Music by
Publication Date: 2013-03-27
This comprehensive survey examines Latin American music, focusing on popular--as opposed to folk or art--music. Available through Credo Reference.
Latin Music: Musicians, Genres, and Themes by
Publication Date: 2014-07-29
Definitive two-volume encyclopedia of Latin music, spanning 5 centuries and 25 countries and describing dozens of rhythms and essential themes. Available in EBSCO.
Pop Culture Latin America! by
Call Number: F1414.2 .S495 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-14
A survey of contemporary Latin American popular culture, covering topics that range from music and film to popular festivals and fashion. Available in print.
Latin American Music Reader by
Call Number: ML3549 .L38 2016 OR ebook online
Publication Date: 2016-07-31
A collection of essential writings from the last twenty-five years of Latin American music studies. Chosen as representative, outstanding, and influential in the field, each article appears in English translation.
Latin American Classical Composers by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Hundreds of composers are represented in this volume, which presents biographical data, including dates of birth and death, personal information about composers' background and training, and a selective listing of each composer's works. Sources for further study are noted within each entry. An index of composers by country rounds out this work.
Scholars Studio Librarian
If you get stuck, get in touch!
Subjects: Arabic Studies
, Asian Studies
, British Studies
, Chinese Studies
, European Studies
, First Year Experience
, German Studies
, Hispanic Studies
, International Studies
, Japanese Studies
, Jewish Studies
, Latin American & Caribbean Studies (LACS)
, Political Science
, Russian Studies
Recording booths ideal for recording podcasts, videos, interviews, and presentations.
College Quick Links