Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
MUSC 280 Music as Culture-- O'Brien: Library Resources
Research resources for Dr. O'Brien's Spring 2023 Music as Culture course.
Call Number: ML100 .G16 1998 (Addlestone Book Stacks, 2nd floor)
ISBN: 0815310846
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is a ten-volume reference work, organized geographically by continent to represent the musics of the world in nine volumes. The tenth volume houses reference tools and descriptive information about the encyclopedia's structure, criteria for inclusion and other information specific to the field of ethnomusicology.
Leading online scholarly resource for music research, offering the full texts of major music dictionaries. Includes Grove Music Online. Broad articles by region, country, genre, instrument, etc. Article bibliographies can be useful.
Publishes a comprehensive bibliography of writings on music serving the global music research community. Today RILM Abstracts of Music Literature has over 1,000,000 records in 143 languages from 178 countries. To find full text for something in RILM, search for the article title on the library homepage/Discover.
One of the top peer-reviewed journals in the field. CofC provides access to the full text of most articles. The most recent 4 years are not available online but CofC Libraries has them in print. You can also find some recent articles online through the publisher's website.
The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including scholarly journal articles, books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. To see when results are available through CofC Libraries, connect your Google Scholar account.
Delve into the cultural study of music and explore content from across the globe with this diverse and comprehensive collection. Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
Kanopy has one of the largest collections of streaming films in the world with 50,000+ films from thousands of leading producers such as Criterion Collection, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources, etc. These films are all genres - from documentaries to movies and training videos - and touch on every topic imaginable.
Provides unlimited remote access to more than 63,000 streaming videos all cross-searchable from a single platform. Includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
At this time, due to DRM restrictions, playback for Sony titles is only allowed in the United States and is not supported on mobile devices or the Apple Safari browser. To view Sony titles, users will need a desktop browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or MS Edge.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by 
