Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday – Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry. Information about access and other locations may be found in this FAQ
Primary sources are the raw materials of historical research - they are the documents or artifacts closest to the topic of investigation. Often they are created during the time period which is being studied (correspondence, diaries, newspapers, government documents, art) but they can also be produced later by eyewitnesses or participants (memoirs, oral histories). You may find primary sources in their original format (usually in an archive) or reproduced in a variety of ways: books, microfilm, digital, etc.. This definition is taken from the Primary Sources Research Guide.
Examples of Primary Sources
- Artifacts (e.g. coins, plant specimens, fossils, furniture, tools, clothing, all from the time under study)
- Audio recordings (e.g. radio programs, oral histories)
- Internet communications on email, listservs
- Interviews (e.g., oral histories, telephone, e-mail)
- Journal articles published in peer-reviewed publications
- Newspaper articles written at the time
- Original Documents (i.e. birth certificate, will, marriage license, trial transcript)
- Proceedings of Meetings, conferences and symposia
- Records of organizations, government agencies (e.g. annual report, treaty, constitution, government document)
- Survey Research (e.g., market surveys, public opinion polls)
- Video recordings (e.g. television programs)
- Works of art, architecture, literature, and music (e.g., paintings, sculptures, musical scores, buildings, novels, poems)
New France 1745 - MAP
Call Number: Special Collections Available , C Flat Storage ; Map 061
Publication Date: 1745
Facsimile, reproduced from an original print in the American Heritage collection.
Insets: Les costes de la Louisiane...; Les environs de Quebec.
Finding Primary Sources
Finding Primary Documents in the Addlestone Catalog: Searching the Discover Service will access many primary documents to which we have online access. Using the search term "new france" is a good start. Under "Refine Results" limiting the "Resource Type to "Archival Material/Manuscripts" will directly access specific documents (as digital images) online. However, keep in mind that many - if not most primary documents - concerning the New France era were written in French (who knew?) and may not be useful to those not versed in that language. Also, the documents consist of images of the original, handwritten letters and may be difficult to read in any case. SEE example here.
Using Monograph (Book) collections of primary documents: Many primary documents have been published as collections in books or contain such collections or primary documents. A way to help you find such sources under the "Limit Your Results" is to choose "Sources" under the "Subject" facet. Other terms to use are correspondence, archival resources, archives, diaries, manuscripts, notebooks, or pamphlets.
These terms are Library of Congress subject heading subdivisions in the source record. The details for using these and other terms can be found on the MIT Research Guide: Finding Primary Sources: Library of Congress Subject Headings
Primary Documents in Bibliographies / Reference lists: The best place to start looking for primary sources are in secondary sources (books and articles) written about the subject you are researching. Academic authors must use primary documents when they write books and articles (just like you do). The primary documents they use must be referenced (documented) in their writing (just like you do). In effect you have a ready made bibliography of primary documents in every academic secondary source you find. Thus, a great place to seek primary documents is in the reference section of a book or article on a subject.
The looking in the reference list / bibliography of the secondary books on the history of New France in this guide is a great place to start. Other collections of primary documents concerning the history of New France are listed here.
Primary Sources Collections
The Colonial Era by
Call Number: E188 .J39 2002
Publication Date: 2002-02-01
Presents hundreds of documents from North America's colonial era--from letters and diary entries to newspaper articles and speeches--covering 1607 to 1776, and provides chapter introductions, chronologies, biographies, maps, and a glossary.
The Colonizers by
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
Blending original-source documents with narrative, this text covers the era of European settlement in America. From Bacon's Rebellion to the Salem witch trials, from the holocaust of the Hurons to the capture of Quebec, a century and a half of tumultuous history is touched on.
Letters from New France by
Call Number: F352 .L48 1992
Publication Date: 1992-04-01
"This remarkable collection of historical documents, gleaned from archival repositories in Canada, France, and the United States ... dealing with French-colonial military, religious, and mercantile life, ... The readings that follow focus on colorful personalities and events associated with the Great Lakes country from 1686-1783 .
Samuel de Champlain Before 1604 by
Call Number: F1030.1 .S26 2010
Publication Date: 2010-11-11
The French explorer, surveyor, cartographer, and diplomat Samuel de Champlain (c. 1575-1635) is often called the Father of New France for founding the settlement that became Quebec City, governing New France, and mapping much of the St. Lawrence and eastern Great Lakes region. Champlain was also a prolific writer who documented his experiences in the Americas, including his travels, impressions of the New World, and encounters and alliances with native peoples.
College Quick Links