Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Art Museums Teaching A Forum for Reflecting on Practice
ArtMuseumTeaching.com is a digital community and collaborative online forum for reflecting on critical issues in the field of museums, including issues of teaching, learning, community engagement, equity & inclusion, social justice, and reflective practice. Launched in 2011, ArtMuseumTeaching aims to connect museum professionals, leading thinkers, communities, educators, ideas, and resources around a dialogue about what we do in our practice.
Death to Museums
Death to Museums is an unconference created by emerging professionals who graduated from a museum studies master’s program amidst a global pandemic. It is a monthly dialogue series that promotes solidarity and exchange among museum workers through wide-ranging workshops, presentations, and social activities. The hope is for Death to Museums become a platform to share ideas and concerns while brainstorming ways to push the field forward.
Association of Art Museum Curators
Founded in 2001, the mission of the Association of Art Museum Curators is to support and promote the work of museum curators by creating opportunities for networking, collaboration, professional development, and advancement. In support of these aims, the AAMC Foundation seeks to heighten public understanding of the curator's role in art museums through professional development programs, awards, and grants.
Archives, Antiracism, and Black Lives Matter
Archives, Antiracism, and Black Lives Matter is a resource guide compiled by the Association of Canadian Archivists.
The Council on Library and Information Resources
The Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR) is an independent, nonprofit organization that forges strategies to enhance research, teaching, and learning environments in collaboration with libraries, cultural institutions and communities of higher learning. CLIR aspires to transform the information landscape to support the advancement of knowledge.
The Newberry Library supports and inspires research, teaching, and learning in the humanities. Its collection—some 1.6 million books, 600,000 maps, and 5 million manuscript pages—is a portal to more than six centuries of human history, from the Middle Ages to the present. The library , connects the public with this history in the Newberry’s reading rooms, exhibition galleries, program spaces, classrooms, and online digital resources.
The mission of Interference Archive is to explore the relationship between cultural production and social movements. This work manifests in an open stacks archival collection, publications, a study center, and public programs including exhibitions, workshops, talks, and screenings, all of which encourage critical and creative engagement with the rich history of social movements.
Black August Archives
Black August Archives is a multimedia archive that is dedicated to documenting, collecting, and preserving hxstories of freedom fighters and radical light. A liberatory archive in content and structure, Black August Archives seeks to digitize and collect material from various social and political movements and disseminate these hxstories to educate our communities and impact future trajectories of liberation.
Disrupting Whiteness in Libraries and Librarianship: A Reading List
Disrupting Whiteness in Libraries and Librarianship is a reading list compiled by University of Wisconsin-Madison. This bibliography contains citations and links (when available) to resources focused on race, racism, and disrupting whiteness and white supremacy in libraries. Particular emphasis is placed on the field of library and information science and librarianship as a profession.
Union Library Workers
News About Union Activity in Libraries, Archives, and the Information Sector.
Abolitionist Library Resource Guide
This resource guide contains information about divestment from police, abolition of police, policing and prisons, anti-racism, white supremacy, power and privilege, cyber security, organizing and campaigning, restorative and transformative justice, rural libraries and librarians and more.
AIC & FAIC Learning: Social Justice and Conservation
The American Institute for Conservation and the Foundation for Advancement in Conservation work together to promote the preservation and protection of cultural heritage.
Engaging Descendant Communities in the Interpretation of Slavery
A Rubric of best practices established by the National Summit on Teaching Slavery.
History@Work Blog (National Council on Public History)
Blog posts tagged as social justice. History@Work is the peer-edited, multi-interest blog of the National Council on Public History (NCPH). NCPH established the blog to create an online venue where people from around the field of public history could share ideas and news. Like the field itself, the blog aims to blend scholarly, professional, and civic discussion arising from the practice of presenting history in public. We publish original, short-form work on all aspects of engaging with history in public.
Inclusive Historian Handbook
This dynamic reference source supports inclusive and equity-focused historical work in public settings by sharing a knowledge base that invites more people to engage in history projects. This handbook provides concrete examples of how to make history work more relevant. It centers on equity, inclusivity, diversity, and public service while offering accessible windows into the many ways public historians work.
List of Social Justice Centers in Higher Education
This list of social justice centers in higher education includes the name of the college or university, location, name of the center, its mission and website.
National Association for Interpretation - Race, Social Justice and Interpretation
The National Association for Interpretation (NAI) is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit professional organization dedicated to advancing the profession of heritage interpretation, currently serving about 7,000 members in the United States, Canada, and over thirty other nations. Individual members include those who work at parks, museums, nature centers, zoos, botanical gardens, aquariums, historical and cultural sites, commercial tour companies, and theme parks.
Not Your Momma's History
Not Your Momma's History consults with and aids museums, historical sites, historical societies, private businesses, etc. in developing specialized programming about slavery and the African experience within 18th and 19th century America. NYMH also trains staff from all backgrounds on how to talk about slavery with diverse audiences. Founded and owned by Cheyney McKnight, she acts as an interpreter advocate for interpreters of color at historical sites up and down the east Coast, providing them with much needed on call support.
Weeksville Heritage Center
Weeksville Heritage Center is an historic site and cultural center in Central Brooklyn that uses education, arts and a social justice lens to preserve, document and inspire engagement with the history of Weeksville, one of the largest free Black communities in pre-Civil War America, and the Historic Hunterfly Road Houses.
Informational Justice: A Conceptual Framework for Social Justice in Library and Information Services
This article presents a conceptual framework of social justice for library and information science (LIS) and services responsive to their core concerns and drawing from the disciplinary literatures in both philosophy and LIS. The framework is introduced in terms of the multifaceted concept of informational justice, defined as the just treatment of persons as seekers, sources, and subjects of information. The article also expands on the central aspect of informational justice, namely iDistributive justice, defined as the equitable distribution of access to information. An iDistributively just system is one that ensures all persons have sufficient access to information, where access is understood as a capability sensitive resource.
Social Justice and Converging Theories: Library Service for Those with Intellectual and Developmental Disability (IDD)
While libraries have sought to advance diversity in their services, they have yet to engage a specific population which tests the limits of the profession’s capabilities and the scope of its mission. Those with Intellectual and Developmental Disability (IDD) combine the categories of learning and physical disabilities and demand the highest level of support. But the impediments to reading imposed by their cognitive condition make it difficult for them to access the library’s materials. Beset by funding shortages and systemic change, what are libraries to do? This study examines how convergent trends in educational theory and practice as well as grass-roots initiatives have created new possibilities for library services to this population. The study reviews these trends as well as a case study to suggest that libraries have much of what they need in their traditional programming and training when combined with a deeper understanding of the dynamics of social justice.
In Pursuit of Antiracist Social Justice: Denaturalizing Whiteness in the Academic Library
This article examines racism and the culture of Whiteness in academic libraries in three major areas of public services: space, staffing, and reference service delivery. The authors perform a critical discourse analysis, drawing on critical race theory, critical geography, critical education, and social psychology to examine foundational library scholarship and professional standards. Academic libraries, as products and representations of their parent institutions, are situated within the well-documented systemic and institutional racism of higher education in the United States. This is reflected in the monocultural geography and spaces of academic libraries. It is seen in the organizational culture and hiring practices of libraries, which are overwhelmingly staffed by White workers, while serving an increasingly diverse student body. Finally, it is reflected in the traditional tenets of reference service delivery, including approachability, responsiveness, and objectivity. The authors argue that racism is embedded in academic libraries through a culture of Whiteness. Consistent with social justice traditions in librarianship, they offer tools and suggestions to realign the profession with antiracist values and practices that will enable libraries to better serve their communities.
Libraries on the frontlines: neutrality and social justice
The purpose of this paper is to examine libraries’ responsibility to engage with and support communities of color as they challenge systemic racism, engage in the political process, and exercise their right to free speech. Many libraries have ignored the Black Lives Matter (BLM) movement, citing the need to maintain neutrality. Despite extensive scholarship questioning the validity of this concept, the framing of library neutrality as nonpartisanship continues. This paper examines librarianship’s engagement with, and disengagement from black communities through the lens of the BLM movement. It also explores the implications of education, engagement, and activism for people of color and libraries today.
Perspectives on Libraries As Institutions of Human Rights and Social Justice by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016-03-07
Academic, public, school, and special libraries are all institutions of human rights and social justice, with an increasingly apparent commitment to equality, to ethical principles based on rights and justice, and to programs that meet needs related to human rights and social justice. Key topics at the intersection of information, human rights, social justice, and technology include information access and literacy, digital inclusion, education, and social services, among many others. Edited by Ursula Gorham, Natalie Greene Taylor, and Paul T. Jaeger, this volume is devoted to the ideals, activities, and programs in libraries that protect human rights and promote social justice. With contributions from researchers, educators, and practitioners from a range of fields, this book is an important resource for library professionals in all types of libraries, a reference for researchers and educators about all types of libraries, and an introduction to those in other fields about the contributions of libraries to human rights and social justice.
Public Libraries and Social Justice by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016-11-10
The need for public libraries to tackle social exclusion and engage in social justice becomes ever more urgent as the gap between rich and poor continues to widen, and the very survival of public libraries in the heart of the community is open to debate. If public libraries are to develop and grow in the future and become relevant to the majority of their local communities, then they need to abandon outmoded concepts of 'excellence' and fully grasp the 'equity' agenda. This book examines the historical background to social exclusion and the strategic context in terms of government and professional policy. The authors propose a compelling manifesto for change and outline practical ways in which public libraries can be transformed into needs-based services.
Teaching for Justice by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Borne of a professional development workshop, Teaching for Justice highlights the commitment and efforts of LIS faculty and instructors who feature social justice theory and strategies in their courses and classroom practices. This book is geared towards LIS instructors who have begun to incorporate social justice into their course content, as well as those who are interested in learning more about how to address social justice in their classrooms. Chapters provide a pedagogical foundation and motivation for teaching social justice in LIS as a stand alone course or as a theme integrated within topical courses that seemingly "have no relationship" to such issues. The experiences and reflections of chapter contributors will prepare readers with strong arguments for the inclusion of social justice in their LIS classroom, curriculum, and school policies, provide an array of practical techniques intended to secure such inclusion, and a instill a sense of confidence for advocating for the incorporation of social justice as a mainstay of LIS education.
LGBTQ+ Librarianship in the 21st Century by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2019-05-01
Libraries are at the heart of many of the communities they serve. Increasingly, it is important for them to adjust to serve minority groups, including LGBTQ+ communities. This collection presents original scholarship on the emerging directions of advocacy and community engagement in LGBTQ+ librarianship. With contributions from library and information professionals, this volume explores how librarians and library professionals can embrace a more proactive role as social justice advocates, and help promote fairness, justice, equality, equity, and activism on behalf of LGBTQ+ people. Starting within the library space, the volume offers an introduction to terminology and resources around LGBTQ+ information, before moving on to explore examples of how LGBTQ+ librarianship can adopt innovative approaches to better serve their patrons in select settings around the world. Including case studies on health services, historical archives, and LGBTQ+ homelessness, this collection dispels misperceptions and myths surrounding social justice research and is vital for any researcher or practitioner interested in supporting evolving communities.
Accessibility for Persons with Disabilities and the Inclusive Future of Libraries by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2015-12-14
All libraries have patrons and staff members with disabilities, making equitable service a priority for these organizations as they provide diverse services to their entire communities. Although rapid technological changes in recent years have offered challenges to libraries, these same technologies provide opportunities to embrace the concept of accessible library services and create innovative new services for patrons with disabilities. Accessibility for Persons with Disabilities and the Inclusive Future of Libraries, edited by Brian Wentz, Paul T. Jaeger, and John Carlo Bertot, focuses on the issues at the intersection of disability, accessibility, inclusion and libraries. The chapters in this volume provide best practices and innovative ideas to share amongst libraries, explore the roles that internet and communication technologies play in the context of inclusive libraries, illuminate the important contributions of libraries in promoting social inclusion of and social justice for people with disabilities, and help libraries to better articulate their contributions in these areas as they engage with disability groups, funders, policymakers, and other parts of their communities.
Information and Liberation by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
Information and Liberation is a retrospective collection of Shiraz Durrani's articles and conference papers on the politics of information. The book documents the struggle for progressive and relevant information policies and practices over a period of 25 years in Kenya, Britain, and other countries. The book records also the vision, struggles and achievements of many progressive librarians and activists to develop a system and a society which can meet the information, social and cultural needs of all, particularly those marginalised by forces of capitalism and imperialism.
Transformative Library and Information Work by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2020-03-13
Intended to be an accessible guide to transformational information work, the book collects approximately thirty brief case studies of information related organizations, initiatives, and/or projects that focus on social justice related activities. Each case is a short narrative account of its particular subject's history, objectives, accomplishments, and challenges faced. It also describes the material realities involved in the subjects' day-to-day operation. Furthermore, cases include pertinent excerpts from interviews conducted with individuals directly involved with the information organization and will conclude with three-to-five bulleted takeaway points for information workers to consider when developing their own praxis Present useful guidance on transformative library and information science Gathers real-world case studies of library and information practice relating to social justice Gives takeaway points for readers to quickly apply in their own situation Provides inspiration for the development of progressive library and information practice Considers radical library and information science at a high level, offering recommendations for the future
Informed Agitation by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
In librarianship today, we encourage voices from our field to join conversations in other disciplines as well as in the broader culture. People who work in libraries and are sympathetic to, or directly involved in, social justice struggles have long embodied this idea, as they make use of their skills in the service of those causes. From movement archives to zine collections, international solidarity to public library programming, oral histories to email lists, prisons to protests - and beyond - this book is a look into the projects and pursuits of activist librarianship in the early 21st century.
Social Justice and Library Work by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2017-10-18
Although they may not have always been explicitly stated, library work has always had normative goals. Until recently, such goals have largely been abstract; they are things like knowledge creation, education, forwarding science, preserving history, supporting democracy, and safeguarding civilization. The modern spirit of social and cultural critique, however, has focused our attention on the concrete, material relationships that determine human potentiality and opportunity, and library workers are increasingly seeing the institution of the library, as well as library work, as embedded in a web of relations that extends beyond the library's traditional sphere of influence. In light of this critical consciousness, more and more library and information science professionals are coming to see themselves as change agents and front-line advocates of social justice issues. This book will serve as a guide for those library workers and related information professionals that disregard traditional ideas of "library neutrality" and static, idealized conceptions of Western culture. The book will work as an entry point for those just forming a consciousness oriented towards social justice work and will be also be of value to more experienced "transformative library workers" as an up-to-date supplement to their praxis. Justifies the use of a variety of theoretical and practical resources for effecting positive change Explores the role of the librarian as change agents
Social Justice Instruction by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016-03-31
This resource offers instructors a full palette of strategies for teaching social justice concepts across subject areas from kindergarten through college. Dividing its content between elementary, adolescent, and adult learners, the book analyzes the classroom experience as a powerful means of challenging stereotypes and supporting inclusion, respect, and equity. History, language arts, literature, and social studies, as well as mathematics and science are shown as platforms for tying critical thinking to moral behavior. And while professional development underlies all chapters in the text, special areas such as technology, curriculum design, recognizing student demographics, and raising social justice awareness in school culture are spotlighted. Among the topics covered: Reframing social justice for the adult learner. The politics of "being": faculty of color teaching social justice in the college classroom. Stories of social justice from the kindergarten classroom. Critical literacy and multicultural literature. The shaming: creating a curriculum that promotes socially-responsible online engagement. Literacy is a civil write: the art, science, and soul of transformative classrooms. For educators and education researchers involved in the field, Social Justice Instruction unlocks the potential for imparting progressive ideas along the educational spectrum. The strategies here model a humanist perspective that will serve learners both in and outside the classroom.
The Politics of Theory and the Practice of Critical Librarianship by
Call Number: Z716.4 .P65 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-01
This book features original research, reflective essays and conversations, and dialogues that consider the relationships between theory, practice, and critical librarianship through the lenses of the histories of librarianship and critical librarianship, intellectual and activist communities, professional practices, information literacy, library technologies, library education, specific theoretical approaches, and underexplored epistemologies and ways of knowing. Karen Nicholson is Manager, Information Literacy, at the University of Guelph, and a PhD candidate (LIS) at Western University, both in Ontario. Her research interests include information literacy and critical university studies. Maura Seale is History Librarian at the University of Michigan and was previously Collections, Research, and Instruction Librarian at Georgetown University. She received an MA in American Studies from the University of Minnesota and an MSI from the University of Michigan.
Our Enduring Values Revisited by
Call Number: Z716.4 .G673 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-16
In the almost 15 years since Our Enduring Values was published, there has been a sea change in the way much of the world thinks about and uses libraries. Young librarians and seasoned LIS professionals alike are experiencing increasing pressure to adjust to new economic, societal, and technological demands amidst the often-dire rhetoric currently surrounding the future of our institutions. In this stirring manifesto, public intellectual, librarian, and philosopher Gorman addresses head on the "existential panic" among library professionals caused by the radical shift in how libraries are viewed. He reconnects readers with the core values that continue to inspire generations of library professionals and scholars--while making the case that these values are doubly crucial to hold on to in the brave new shifting world of librarianship. Destined to become another classic of library literature, this book explores such contemporary issues as The growing emphasis of the library as a cultural institution, placing libraries within their cultural context as gathering places for learning, access to information, and community The impact of technological innovations on core values such as access and stewardship Library places and spaces of the future How the mass digitization of books, archives, and other materials affects the purpose and function of libraries Intellectual freedom and privacy in the era of the PATRIOT Act, Wikileaks, and Edward Snowden The role of libraries as both champions and facilitators of social justiceInspirational yet clear-sighted, Gorman emphatically reaffirms the importance of libraries and librarians while proposing a path for future survival and growth.
Reference Librarianship and Justice by
Call Number: Z711 .R44445 2018
Publication Date: 2017-11-01
Reference work often receives short shrift in the contemporary discourse and practice of librarianship. Reference Librarianship & Justice: History, Practice & Praxis highlights the unique position of reference librarianship, a liminal and dialectical space, potentially distinct from the power dynamics of classroom instruction and singular in its mission and practice. At heart, reference is a conversation and partnership. The stakes are significant, not only because of the unique potential for social justice work but because of the risk that the profession is now overlooking reference's central importance. This book makes a passionate case for reference work in a manner that is historically, socially and politically compelling. The book's three sections explore the praxis, history and practice of reference librarianship in the context of social justice. Praxis grounds us theoretically while seeking to trouble and broaden traditional academic conventions, drawing on diverse epistemological frameworks and disciplines both inside and outside of LIS literatures. History grounds us in the past and makes the case that reference librarianship has a long tradition of social justice work, providing intellectual access, partnership and guidance from the Jim Crow South to the War on Poverty. Finally, Dispatches from the Field explores the contemporary practice of social-justice oriented reference librarianship, in prisons, in archives and beyond. We see how the rich genealogy of social justice in reference librarianship is at work today.
College Quick Links