Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reading Lists and Course Reserves: Student FAQs

This guide gives you step-by-step instructions on how to use the Reading List tool.
Reading List FAQ header image

How Do I...

You can track which resources you have read by clicking on the small check mark next to the item's title.

This comes in handy with long lists!

Screenshot indicating how to mark your readings as complete or incomplete

"My Collection" is your personal library of saved resources.

You can use this space to create a personal collection of resources by gathering citations from Reading Lists and searching the Libraries' collections.

To add an item (or citation) from a reading list to your personal collection, select "Copy to my collection" from the "..." menu next to any resource on a reading list.

Screenshot displaying copy to collection menu

 

To add an item (or citation) from the Libraries' collection to your personal collection, first select "Add Items" from the Collection page.Then enter your search terms in the blue box on the right hand side of the page. Click the blue and white magnifying glass icon to conduct your search.

Screenshot demonstrating how to add items from the Libraries' collection to My Collections

When you have located a resource that you want to save to your collection for later, click anywhere on the result and then click the "Add" button that will appear below the result.

Screenshot of how to finish adding an item to a collection

Every resource has a field where you can enter a "Private Note" or a note just to yourself.  No one else will be able to read these notes. You can use this field to keep yourself organized. To record a private note on a citation, click the "Add note" under the Private Note heading, record your note, and then click either save (to save the note) or cancel (to delete the note).

Reading List private note field

 

You can export your reading list as multiple formats, including PDF files, Excel files, and Word documents.

Screenshot demonstrating how to export a reading list for students

To export your reading list:

  1. Click on the "..." menu at the top right of the reading list window.
  2. Click "Export" from the dropdown menu.
  3. Select your preferred export format. Your reading list export should start downloading from the software immediately.

How Do You Like Reading Lists?

Did you find this software hard to use?  Did you think it was helpful? We want to hear from you!