Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Discover CofC Libraries
The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including academic/scholarly journal articles, print books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!
Search for and evaluate books, articles, and media to help with your assignments.
Start your Research
Subject Specific Journals
Subject Specific Databases
These databases (and more) are available via the A-Z Databases list.
Some content on industry or trade association websites and professional directories may require membership, but many of these organizations provide free data and information as well as open access to digital versions of their publications.
Please help us build and improve this collection by emailing the owner of this guide the quality sites you find. Begin by Googling the industry or profession you are researching and a combination of the following keywords: trade association, industry association, professional association, professional organization, etc.
Below are additional online resources relevant to this subject area.
Annual Survey of Manufactures (U.S. Census Bureau)
Provides sample estimates of statistics for all manufacturing establishments with one or more paid employee.
Benchmarking metrics and research from the Center for Advanced Procurement Strategy, which is sponsored by the Institute for Supply Chain Management and the W. P. Carey School of Business at Arizona State University. Registration is required for free access the CAPS Library. Paid membership is required to access the last four years of research.
Commodity Flow Survey (U.S. Census Bureau)
Data used by policy makers and transportation planners in various federal, state, and local agencies for assessing the demand for transportation facilities and services, energy use, and safety risk and environmental concerns.
Commodity Markets (The World Bank)
Downloadable "pink sheets" and other commodity and special topics reports. Current publications as well as archived analysis and data are available.
Commodity Statistics and Information (U.S. Geological Survey)
Statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the environment.
Multimedia magazine providing best practices, case studies, trends, research, reviews, professional development, and special reports for logistics and supply chain managers and executives.
News and trends searchable by topic and sector.
Directory of North American suppliers of machinery, parts, supplies, and services for engineering, operations, plant/facility management, and procurement/purchasing executives. Data is "researched by hand" rather than "scraped" from potentially outdated websites. Blog posts on industry news and trends are also available.
Global business directory searchable by region, sector, company, product, or service.
A list of relevant supply chain and logistics links from the Georgia Tech Supply Chain and Logistics Institute.
MacRAE'S Blue Book
Directory of North American industrial supply, distribution, and manufacturing companies and listings of their products and services. Basic listings are free and data are provided by the companies.
MIT Center for Transportation & Logistics
Supply chain and logistics research conducted by students, faculty, and industry leaders.
National Transportation Library (U.S. Department of Transportation)
Digital library coordinating and providing national and international access to full-text transportation information and reference services for the transportation community.
Prices & Trends (U.S. Department of Energy)
Price trend and energy data searchable by energy sources and uses, topics, and geography.
Producer Price Indexes (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Family of indexes measuring the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers of goods and services.
Research by Country (International Trade Administration)
Market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs searchable by industry, country, region. Trade data and analysis are also available.
Supply Chain Brain
Multimedia coverage of news, emerging trends, technologies, and best practices in supply chain management.
Supply Chain Digest
Logistics and supply chain newsletter that includes access to case studies, reports/white papers, calculators and spreadsheets, and a platform for asking an expert panel of industry professionals questions.
Industrial sourcing platform and digital marketing service provider for buyers, engineers, and MRO professionals in North America. Accounts and listings are free as are online industrial marketing resources and procurement guides, industry analysis and news, white papers, case studies, and more.
Transportation Library (Northwestern University Libraries)
One of the largest transportation information centers in the world, encompassing information on all transportation modalities, including air, rail, highway, pipeline, water, urban transport, and logistics.
College Quick Links