It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is accessible only to College of Charleston students, faculty, and staff, Friends of the Library, or those with appointments for services offered in the library. NEW Cougar Cards, FOL cards, or appointment emails are required for entry. Face coverings and social distancing are also required. Virtual services for all College Libraries continue to be available at answers.library.cofc.edu.
Undergraduate Student Services: Research
A guide to CofC Libraries' services for undergraduate students including dual enrollment students
The Addlestone Library is the main College of Charleston Library and is also home to Special Collections, the Center for Student Learning, the main campus computer lab, the Scholars Studio, and Starbucks.
The Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture, a division of the College of Charleston, was established to collect, preserve, and make public the unique historical and cultural heritage of African Americans in Charleston and the South Carolina Lowcountry.
The Marine Resources Library is supported financially by the College of Charleston, the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources Marine Resources Division, and the NOAA/NOS/Coastal Center for Environmental Health & Biomolecular Research Charleston Laboratory and provides resources and services to the staff, faculty, and students of the three institutions.
Established in 1855, the South Carolina Historical Society is dedicated to expanding, preserving, and making accessible their collection, and encouraging interest and pride in the rich history of the state. The South Carolina Historical Society library and archival services is located on the third floor of Addlestone Library. The SCHS Headquarters is located in The Fireproof Building at 100 Meeting Street in Charleston.
Located on the 3rd floor of the Addlestone Library, Special Collections' holdings include over 600 manuscript collections related to the history and culture of the South Carolina Lowcountry, the archives of the College of Charleston, the Spoleto Festival Archives, and more than 40,000 rare books and pamphlets.
Need something we do not have? Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to obtain books and journal articles from other colleges and universities worldwide. The Marine Resources Library provides interlibrary Loan service to marine biology graduate students.