The field of cultural anthropology describes and interprets the thought and behavior of contemporary and near-contemporary societies. Inherently pluralistic, it offers a framework in which the distinctive perspectives of each cultural world can be appreciated. Robert Winthrop's dictionary describes the major concepts that have shaped the discipline, both historically and theoretically. It sets modern anthropology in its proper context within the broader intellectual tradition. Eighty entries review the key concepts--culture, race, nature, symbolism, adaptation, the primitive, etc.--that have established the fundamental problems and issues, guided research, and served as the focus for debate in key areas of the discipline. The entries which range from 2,000 to 6,000 words in length, are both thorough in treatment and contemporary in relevance. Some entries are primarily of historical significance while others describe recent developments. Each entry contains an annotated bibliography and a guide to additional reading on the subject. While this is not primarily a technical lexicon, many terms have been glossed and explained. Designed to be useful to students of anthropology, this dictionary will assist those in other disciplines to find their way through the anthropological labyrinth.
"This defining work will be valuable to readers and researchers in social sciences and humanities at all academic levels. As a teaching resource it will be useful to instructors and students alike and will become a standard reference source. Essential for general and academic collections." --CHOICE This Encyclopedia provides readers with authoritative essays on virtually all social science methods topics, quantitative and qualitative, by an international collection of experts. Organized alphabetically, the Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods covers research terms ranging from different methodological approaches to epistemological issues and specific statistical techniques. Written to be accessible to general readers, the Encyclopedia entries do not require advanced knowledge of mathematics or statistics to understand the purposes or basic principles of any of the methods. To accomplish this goal, there are two major types of entries: definitions consisting of a paragraph or two to provide a quick explanation of a methodological term; and topical treatments or essays that discuss the nature, history, applications, and implications of using a certain method, including suggested readings and references. Readers are directed to related topics via cross-referenced terms that appear in small capital letters. By assembling entries of varied origins and serving different research purposes, readers will be able to benefit from this immense source of methodological expertise in advancing their understanding of research. With three volumes and more than 900 signed entries, the Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods will be a critical addition to any social science library.