LibGuides: MUSC 222: Home

Today's Topics - Session Overview

Today we will be reviewing:

Using library resources
Searching the Library Catalog
Finding Books in ProQuest
Searching JSTOR
Searching Google Scholar/Google Books
Finding Citation Help

CofC Libraries

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of electronic books covering all subject areas available from ProQuest. Authorization with College of Charleston credentials is required for this resource both on-campus and off-campus.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Key Library Resources

Background Information Sources

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Ruth M. Stone (Editor)
Call Number: ML100 .G16 1998 (Addlestone Book Stacks, 2nd floor)
ISBN: 0815310846
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is a ten-volume reference work, organized geographically by continent to represent the musics of the world in nine volumes. The tenth volume houses reference tools and descriptive information about the encyclopedia's structure, criteria for inclusion and other information specific to the field of ethnomusicology.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Leading online scholarly resource for music research, offering the full texts of major music dictionaries. Includes Grove Music Online. Broad articles by region, country, genre, instrument, etc. Article bibliographies can be useful.

Secondary Sources (scholarly journals and books)

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Publishes a comprehensive bibliography of writings on music serving the global music research community. Today RILM Abstracts of Music Literature has over 1,000,000 records in 143 languages from 178 countries. To find full text for something in RILM, search for the article title on the library homepage/Discover.

Ethnomusicology (online)
One of the top peer-reviewed journals in the field. CofC provides access to the full text of most articles. The most recent 4 years are not available online but CofC Libraries has them in print. You can also find some recent articles online through the publisher's website.
Ethnomusicology (print)
For more recent articles that aren't available in JSTOR, use the print journals on the 3rd floor of Addlestone.

You can find many additional scholarly secondary sources by searching in the library Discovery Service or Google Scholar.

Advanced Discovery Search
The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including scholarly journal articles, books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. To see when results are available through CofC Libraries, connect your Google Scholar account.

Primary Sources

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio of thousands of albums of world musics. Browse by region. Make sure to read the liner notes (located in “Related Documents”).

Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings
Delve into the cultural study of music and explore content from across the globe with this diverse and comprehensive collection. Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
Intro to World Music playlists from Alexander Street
Playlists for regions around the world, designed to introduce students to a variety of musical styles, instruments and performance contexts.

Streaming Video Collections

Look in these collections for documentaries or feature films related to your topic.

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
State-of-the-art streaming video platform incorporating outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy has one of the largest collections of streaming films in the world with 50,000+ films from thousands of leading producers such as Criterion Collection, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources, etc. These films are all genres - from documentaries to movies and training videos - and touch on every topic imaginable.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Provides unlimited remote access to more than 63,000 streaming videos all cross-searchable from a single platform. Includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
At this time, due to DRM restrictions, playback for Sony titles is only allowed in the United States and is not supported on mobile devices or the Apple Safari browser. To view Sony titles, users will need a desktop browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or MS Edge.