Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYE LC THTR 176: Women Performing Astronomy: FYE LC THTR 176: Women Performing Astronomy (Appler)

FYE LC THTR 176: Women Performing Astronomy

Video Streaming Databases

Finding Background Information

Use a Library Database Like Credo Reference to help you located background information.

 

Oxford Reference Online
Includes digitized, continuously updated entries from Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias.

Find Books and Other Information

Use the Library Discovery Service to find books with information

  • Search your scientist as keyword; be sure to put the name in quotes ("Annie Jump Cannon").
  • Search your scientist as subject, last name first (Mitchell, Maria).
  • Watch for other subject headings that might be useful 
  • Try searching for a specific project/discovery 
  • If you want primary sources, order your search results by year and find items published between the relevant dates or use the facet feature to limit to newspapers.

Using Research Databases to Find Articles, Reviews, etc. About Your Scientist

Using Research Databases to Find Articles, Reviews, etc. About Your Scientis

Go to the databases AFTER you've been in the Library Discovery Catalog.  And make it easy on yourself. Simply do the SAME SEARCH you did in the catalog.

Your best databases are: 

Helpful Search Tips:

  • Search these two databases together (and any others that interest you) by selecting More Databases at the top of the screen.
  • Search your playwright as keyword; be sure to put the name in quotes ("Konstantin Stanislavsky").
  • Use the provided terms along the left-hand side of your results screen to help you narrow your results.
  • Narrow by date to find primary sources. There is an easy to use Publication Date limiter on the left side of your results page. 
  • Narrow by type of publication by selecting newspapers.
  • Some articles are available in full-text online. For those that are not, use the library catalog to search the journal’s title. For titles to which we don’t have access, use Interlibrary Loan to obtain a PDF of the article for FREE!

Staging Treatments

  • Annie Jump Cannon
  • Maria Mitchell
  • Nancy Grace Roman
  • Benjamin Banneker
  • Claudia Alexander
  • Mercedes Tharam Richards
  • Dara Norman
  • Hypatia
  • Neil DeGrasse Tyson

Search/Explore the major discoveries and experiments that each of these scientists was involved with.

Scholars Studio Librarian

Jolanda-Pieta (Joey) van Arnhem M.F.A., M.L.I.S.'s picture
Jolanda-Pieta (Joey) van Arnhem M.F.A., M.L.I.S.
Contact:
Addlestone Library, Room 101
843.953.3604