Skip to Main Content
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Discover CofC Libraries
The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including academic/scholarly journal articles, print books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!
Search for and evaluate books, articles, and media to help with your assignments.
Start your Research
Subject Specific Databases
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for serious academic research. Includes thousands of peer-reviewed and full-text journal in a wide variety of subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full-text journals and magazines, thousands of peer-reviewed journals, access to over 1,400 journals without an embargo, over 2,000 journals indexed in Web of Science and Scopus, and more.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commerical art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Halsey Institure of Contemporary Art
The Halsey Institute of Contemporary Art at the College of Charleston School of the Arts provides a multidisciplinary laboratory for the production, presentation, interpretation, and dissemination of ideas by innovative visual artists from around the world. As a non-collecting museum, we create meaningful interactions between adventurous artists and diverse communities within a context that emphasizes the historical, social, and cultural importance of the art of our time.
Gibbes Museum of Art
The Gibbes houses a premier collection of over 10,000 works of fine art, principally American works, many with a connection to Charleston or the South.
Columbia Museum of Art
The Columbia Museum of Art celebrates outstanding artistic creativity through its collection, exhibitions, and programs, interacting in ways that engage the mind and enrich the spirit. The museum currently has over 20,000 square feet of gallery space, which allows us to bring a wide range of exhibitions to South Carolina, as well as to provide the necessary space for the proper presentation of our collection, which numbers over 7,000 objects.
Greenville County Museum of Art
Considered the premier American art museum in the South, the GCMA is home to the world’s largest public collection of watercolors by iconic American artist Andrew Wyeth. The GCMA also has an impressive collection of paintings and prints by contemporary artist Jasper Johns. Ranging from Federal portraits to contemporary abstractions, the GCMA’s acclaimed Southern Collection invites viewers to survey American art history through works with ties to the South.
Asheville Art Museum
Innovative programming utilizing an outstanding collection of American art of the 20th and 21st centuries has established the Asheville Art Museum as a leader in the arts for Western North Carolina and the Southeast. It is the only organization of its kind providing cultural and educational experiences for residents and visitors to the 24 county region. Established by artists and incorporated in 1948, the Asheville Art Museum is committed to being a vital force in community and individual development and to providing life-long opportunities for education and enrichment through the visual arts.
Art Institute of Chicago
The Art Institute of Chicago collects, preserves, and interprets works of art of the highest quality, representing the world’s diverse artistic traditions, for the inspiration and education of the public and in accordance with our profession’s highest ethical standards and practices.
Philadelphia Museum of Art
The Philadelphia Museum of Art is home to more than 227,000 works of art spanning the creative achievements of humankind from all corners of the globe. The Asian art collections contain works from pre-antiquity to the present, while the European holdings date from the medieval era. The American collections, particularly strong in representing the achievements of historic Philadelphia, are among the finest in the country. In addition to these holdings are expanding collections of modern and contemporary art, one of the country’s largest collections of arms and armor, unique architectural settings and period rooms, and encyclopedic collections of costume and textiles and prints, drawings, and photographs.
The Barnes Foundation
The Barnes Foundation was established by Albert C. Barnes in 1922 to “promote the advancement of education and the appreciation of the fine arts and horticulture.” The Barnes holds one of the finest collections of Post-Impressionist and early Modern paintings, with extensive works by Pierre-Auguste Renoir, Paul Cézanne, Henri Matisse, Pablo Picasso, Henri Rousseau, Amedeo Modigliani, Chaim Soutine and Giorgio de Chirico, as well as American masters Charles Demuth, William Glackens, Horace Pippin and Maurice Prendergast, Old Master paintings, important examples of African sculpture and Native American ceramics, jewelry and textiles, American paintings and decorative arts and antiquities from the Mediterranean region and Asia.
The Louvre or the Louvre Museum is one of the world's largest museums and a historic monument in Paris, France. Nearly 35,000 objects from prehistory to the 21st century are exhibited over an area of 652,300 square feet. The Louvre is the world's most visited museum, receiving more than 9.7 million visitors in 2012.
The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) acquired its first artworks in 1929, the year it was established. Today, the Museum’s evolving collection contains almost 200,000 works from around the world spanning the last 150 years. The collection includes an ever-expanding range of visual expression, including painting, sculpture, printmaking, drawing, photography, architecture, design, film, and media and performance art.
The Tate holds the national collection of British art from 1500 to the present day and international modern and contemporary art.
CofC Journals of Interest
A quarterly journal devoted to the contemporary and traditional arts of Africa. Includes sculpture in wood, metal, ceramic, ivory, and stone, as well as work in fiber, hide, mud, and other materials. Covers architecture, arts of personal adornment, contemporary fine and popular arts, and the arts of the Africa Diaspora. Provides a forum for dialogue on other forms of African expressive culture: film, theater, dance, and music.
Founded in 1978 as the official journal of the Association of Art Historians, Art History is now well established as a leading journal internationally, covering all aspects of the visual arts, from prehistory to the present day, including architecture, design and the history of photography and film. It also explores art history in relation to other subjects where art is significant or which have an influence on and implications for art itself such as religion, archaeology, politics and literature.
Archives of Asian Art
Archives of Asian Art is an annual journal devoted to the arts of South, Southeast, Central, and East Asia. Each issue presents articles by leading scholars and a selection of outstanding works of Asian art acquired by North American museums during the previous year. The editors attempt to maintain a balanced representation of regions and types of art, as well as a variety of scholarly perspectives.
Art Papers Magazine
ART PAPERS is the independent critical voice covering contemporary art and culture in the world today. ART PAPERS, an Atlanta-based nonprofit organization, provides an accessible forum for examining, discussing, and documenting the full spectrum of contemporary art and culture, as well as the ways they affect and reflect our lives. We do so in print, online, and through public programming.
Featuring articles and discussions on areas of conservation practice and on projects and activities of the Conservation Institute.
The Journal of Cultural Heritage
The Journal of Cultural Heritage publishes original papers which comprise previously unpublished data and present innovative methods concerning all aspects of science and technology of cultural heritage as well as interpretation and theoretical issues related to preservation.
Journal of Design History
Journal of Design History is a leading journal in its field. It plays an active role in the development of design history (including the history of the crafts and applied arts), as well as contributing to the broader field of studies of visual and material culture.
College Quick Links