Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is accessible only to College of Charleston students, faculty, and staff, Friends of the Library, or those with appointments for services offered in the library. NEW Cougar Cards, FOL cards, or appointment emails are required for entry. Face coverings and social distancing are also required. Virtual services for all College Libraries continue to be available at answers.library.cofc.edu.

AAST 395: African American Studies Research Methods (Greene): Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography is simply an expanded bibliography. In addition to the citation you provide at the end of your paper or project, you provide a few sentences about the citation and why/how you plan on using it in your assignment.

The annotations in an annotated bibliography are not summaries. It is information you gather from evaluating the source yourself.

The OWL at Purdue provides a simple recipe for an annotation:

  1. Summarize: What is this source about, and what are the conclusions?
  2. Assess: Evaluate the source based on the CRAAP method.
  3. Reflect: How will this be incorporated into your own research?

 

See also Cornell University https://guides.library.cornell.edu/annotatedbibliography

Annotated Bibliography Formatting

  • Double space throughout
  • Citations in alphabetical order
  • Hanging-indent citations
  • Annotations should be indented under  the citation

Helpful Videos

This is a four-part series given by Mr. David Taylor from Savannah Technical College on how to write an APA-MLA Annotated Bibliography