LibGuides: AAST 290: Banned Books that Changed Black History (Wentworth): Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography is simply an expanded bibliography. In addition to the citation you provide at the end of your paper or project, you provide a few sentences about the citation and why/how you plan on using it in your assignment.

The annotations in an annotated bibliography are not summaries. It is information you gather from evaluating the source yourself.

The OWL at Purdue provides a simple recipe for an annotation:

Summarize: What is this source about, and what are the conclusions?
Assess: Evaluate the source based on the CRAAP method.
Reflect: How will this be incorporated into your own research?

See also Cornell University https://guides.library.cornell.edu/annotatedbibliography

Annotated Bibliography Formatting

Double space throughout
Citations in alphabetical order
Hanging-indent citations
Annotations should be indented under the citation

First stop? Generate some KEYWORDS

Example 1 Annotated Bibliography

Here is an example annotated bibliography used with the MLA citation format.

Example 2 Annotated Bibliography

Here is an example used with APA citation format https://sites.umuc.edu/library/libhow/bibliography_apa.cfm

Writing Lab

Located in Room 107 within the Center for Student Learning in Addlestone Library, Peer consultants in the Writing Lab assist students in the writing process. The current schedule is posted on the Writing Lab website.

Helpful Videos

This is a four-part series given by Mr. David Taylor from Savannah Technical College on how to write an APA-MLA Annotated Bibliography

Citefast

AAST 290: Banned Books that Changed Black History (Wentworth): Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliography Formatting

Writing Lab

Helpful Videos

Contact

Location

College Quick Links