Skip to main content

Library Tutorials Best Practices: Planning & Production

Best practices for producing effective library tutorials. Adapted from Video Tutorials Best Practices (http://ncwc.libguides.com/videobestpractices) by Amy Brake NC Wesleyan College Library

Meeting Minutes

Research Documentation

Here, you will find research documents compiled by the Tutorial Committee

Shared Google Docs

This is a collection of working Google Docs documentation. For editing access, please contact Christine at elliottcr@cofc.edu.

Working Scripts for 1st Re-Vamped Tutorial Attempt

Potential Plan for Addlestone Tutorial Production

Media Production in General: Creating media productions for the library should include the production of explanatory videos/multimedia as well as tutorials.  Other media productions should include library marketing and promotion for services.  These productions could be made from the standpoint of series such that we have a research series (tools for doing library research), a database series (searching and using specific databases), Library Services (explaining library services and places such as the reference desk, circulation desk, and ILL), etc.  Using the Reynold’s Library model we need not create all productions in-house - at least not initially.  Reynold’s links to well produced videos that other libraries have already created. Sections on searching the library catalog would necessarily require an in-house video on using our own catalog (Discovery Service).


Regarding Tutorials:  Although the historical modus operandi of our tutorials has been a voiceover screen casted video, we need not necessarily confine ourselves to this as our only medium. We should be open to all and any option (and any combination of options) that will effectively engage and teach the subject at hand (Prezi, Powerpoint, screen casting, animation programs etc.)..

Tutorial System: I should like to note that the Reynold’s Library tutorials are not standalone videos.  They are incorporated into modules that are actually libguide pages.  Each such module libguide page includes text information as well as video tutorials and links to pdf handouts.  Each module also has a separate link for patron feedback.  Thus, the videos are part of a tutorial system.  It is a system that I think we should emulate.
 

Creating Video Series: Our own modules/videos  could be produced as part of series.  The Reynold’s modules for example would represent the Research Series.  Additional Seres could include Databases, Library Services, and Promotions).  I list four potential series below..

 

Research

(based on the information literacy research guide from Reynolds Library)

These modules (with videos embedded therein) explain specific parts of an overall research process.

Databases

These would be actual short tutorials (multi-part per database if necessary) to explain how to use and search specific databases.

Library Services :

These videos would explain library services such as reference, circulation, ILL, streaming video, check-out of laptops and equipment, study rooms etc..

Promotions

These would be short promotions of library events or general services.

  • Find Topic Ideas & Overviews
  • Refining a Topic
  • Journals vs Magazines
  • How to search the library catalog (Discovery Service)
  • Find & Use Ebooks
  • Using Web Resources
  • Criteria for Evaluating Resources
  • Citing a Resource
  • Avoiding Plagiarism
  • Wikipedia: the good, the bad, and the ugly

 

  • Searching Library Databases
  • Academic Search Complete
  • J- Store
  • Project Muse
  • Ebsco Databases
  • The InformationDesk
  • The CIrculation Desk
  • Obtain Books from Other Libraries (ILL)
  • Off Campus Access
  • Printing in the Library
  • Campus-wide printing
  • Software on our computers