Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is accessible only to College of Charleston students, alumni, faculty, and staff, Friends of the Library, PASCAL visiting patrons, or those with appointments for services offered in the library. Cougar Cards, Alumni cards, FOL cards, PASCAL institution IDs, or appointment emails are required for entry. Virtual services are available at answers.library.cofc.edu
Contents: Welcome to the ArchivesSpace User Guide
What is CofC ArchivesSpace?
CofC ArchivesSpace is your entry point to browse and is your discovery portal for archival and other unique materials at the College of Charleston. Use CofC ArchivesSpace to search for manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, and institutional records held by the archival repositories at the College of Charleston. These include the Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture and Special Collections.
Does this ArchivesSpace include all the materials in Special Collections and the Avery Research Center?
ArchivesSpace does not include all the materials held in Special Collections and the Avery Research Center. Some collections are unprocessed, and therefore, there is no online finding aid available. Brief records for unprocessed collections may be available in the CofC Libraries Catalog.
Other materials held by Special Collections and Avery Research Center can be found in:
- CofC Libraries: catalog contains records for all published materials (books, journals, magazines, etc.) held in Special Collections and Avery Research Center
- Lowcountry Digital Library: contains born-digital and digitized materials from the Special Collections, Avery Research Center, and other cultural heritage organizations in the South Carolina Lowcountry.
Questions? and Comments?
Please contact Special Collections or the Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture for help finding collection material and to make appointments to access material.
Special Collections will respond to questions Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM – 4:00 PM.
The Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture will respond to questions Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM.
Request Avery Research Center Collections
Special Collections and SC Historical Society Archives
College Quick Links