Skip to Main Content
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Refresh your knowledge of Primary Sources.
Often they are created during the time period which is being studied (correspondence, diaries, newspapers, government documents, art) but they can also be produced later by eyewitnesses or participants (memoirs, oral histories).
(from the Primary Sources Library Guide, written by Mary Jo Fairchild)
Databases containing multiple current newspapers
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Current and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources including newspaper titles, newswires, web editions, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents, and other publications. Also Included in this collection are Ethnic, African American, Military, Government & Defense, South Carolina news sources image editions of The Post and Courier and The State.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search News > France > Sources to access French Language magazines and news sources.
Also search Country Info > France > Source
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Database includes full-text newspapers and articles, as well as television and radio news transcripts. Provides daily news updates from popular sources.
- PressReader This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of current newspapers and magazines from around the world.
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
One of the best places to start for all time periods of European history. Extensive collection of primary sources and links to other sites. Browse by broad era (prehistory/ancient, medieval/renaissance, modern) or by country.
Provides access to digital collections from archives, museums, and special collections across Europe. Also includes a rotating gallery and digital exhibitions.
Find other sources by searching keywords in the Discover tool. Our demo searches were:
catacombs and paris
cathedrals and paris
cafes and paris
Remember to explore new terms as you research and try those terms too.
Once you find researchers in this field, you can search their names for other articles and books they have written, for example: Erin-Marie Legacey
Discover CofC Libraries
The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including academic/scholarly journal articles, print books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!
Search for and evaluate books, articles, and media to help with your assignments.
Start your Research
How to Connect with Library Resources
Update your Google Scholar settings to link to the College of Charleston Libraries collection.
- Go to Google Scholar, and click the three horizontal bars in the left corner to view the menu (for browser Chrome--if using another browser, look for settings).
- Click the cog icon to see Settings.
- Click Library links, and search for College of Charleston.
- Check the box next to "College of Charleston Libraries.”
- Click Save.
A View it @ CofC link will now appear next to select articles in your search results. Click on them to see if we have the articles in our collection. Note: Google Scholar includes books and book chapters as well as articles. The View it link won't work for these or for journal articles that are only available in print (not online).
College Quick Links