Skip to Main Content
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Academic Journals v. Popular Magazines
National Register of Historic Places
Update your Google Scholar settings to link to the College of Charleston Libraries collection.
- Go to Google Scholar, and click the three horizontal bars in the left corner to view the menu (for browser Chrome--if using another browser, look for settings).
- Click the cog icon to see Settings.
- Click Library links, and search for College of Charleston.
- Check the box next to "College of Charleston Libraries.”
- Click Save.
A View it @ CofC link will now appear next to select articles in your search results. Click on them to see if we have the articles in our collection. Note: Google Scholar includes books and book chapters as well as articles. The View it link won't work for these or for journal articles that are only available in print (not online).
General Article Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full-text journals and magazines, thousands of peer-reviewed journals, access to over 1,400 journals without an embargo, over 2,000 journals indexed in Web of Science and Scopus, and more.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for serious academic research. Includes thousands of peer-reviewed and full-text journal in a wide variety of subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Content covers all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The Modern Language Association's comprehensive index of scholarly journals and series in literature, languages, and folklore. Covers 1926 to the present.
Find Articles: News Resources
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
African Newspapers, Series 1, 1800-1922 This link opens in a new window
Created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries and its contributing members this groundbreaking online collection provides more than 60 searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Web-based archive of Americana that features images and full text content from many historical newspapers.
Civil War: Part I: A Newspaper Perspective This link opens in a new window
Coverage begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln.
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida/Georgia/Tennessee/Virginia And Alabama This link opens in a new window
A collection of newspaper articles from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama, ranging from 1861-1865.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Database includes full-text newspapers and articles, as well as television and radio news transcripts. Provides daily news updates from popular sources.
Early American Newspapers, Series I This link opens in a new window
Search or browse early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of primary source 19th century U.S. newspapers.
Post and Courier Collection with Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Coverage for the Post and Courier: 1873 to present from NewsBank's Access World News.
New York Times (Historical: 1851-2013) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851-2013
ILL Services for Students
- PASCAL Delivers - Request books available at other South Carolina Colleges and Universities with typically arrive in 3 to 5 business days. The loan period is six weeks with an optional six-week renewal that can be requested through your MyLibrary Account.
- Traditional Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
- Books - request books outside South Carolina. Arrival times vary based on the availability and location of materials.
- Journal articles - request journal articles from journals to which we do not subscribe for speedy electronic delivery to your ILL account.
- Dissertations and Theses - get access to dissertations and theses we don't have access to through ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
- Films - request DVDs and Bluray discs from libraries across the country.
- And more! Anything a library is willing to loan, we will try to borrow it through interlibrary loan.
College Quick Links