Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is accessible only to College of Charleston students, alumni, faculty, and staff, Friends of the Library, PASCAL visiting patrons, or those with appointments for services offered in the library. Cougar Cards, Alumni cards, FOL cards, PASCAL institution IDs, or appointment emails are required for entry. Virtual services are available at answers.library.cofc.edu
Using an Encyclopedia as a Background Source
The purpose of an encyclopedia is to provide basic information about a topic.
Within the article, you should encounter important terms, the names of notable people, and background information on the topic. This can help you establish a foundation for your research.
Where possible, use the bibliography at the end of an encyclopedia article.
Hitting a Keyword Wall?
I totally get it! Generating keywords for a research topic can be a daunting task. Where do you even start?
Luckily, California State University has created a nifty Keyword Generator tool for you to get an easy step-by-step guide on creating effective keywords that will bring you great results as you explore the library catalog and databases.
Finding Background Information for Research: A Word Cloud
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers topic overviews and pro/con viewpoints on thousands of current issues. Includes full-text newspapers and periodicals, images, videos, and audio selections.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist and includes bibliographies of key sources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive access to newspapers, broadcast transcripts, wire services, and blogs from around the globe as well as extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, and business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Content covers all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
College Quick Links