Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Local & Statewide Archives and Repositories
Local Archives & Repositories
Charleston Archive at the Charleston County Public Library
An archive of historic manuscripts, books and visual materials representing Charleston and the surrounding Lowcountry.
Charleston County Public Library Genealogy Resources
A website that provides access to genealogical information at the Charleston County Public Library including: a genealogical overview, how to get started, sources, South Carolina genealogy guides, genealogy web sites, general works, record of births, marriages and deaths in Charleston, wills, immigration, land & tax records, military records, directories, census information, and other libraries with historical/genealogical collections.
Charleston Library Society
A cultural institution for life-long learning, serving its members, the Lowcountry community and scholars through access to its rich collection of books, manuscripts, and archival material and programs.
Margaretta Childs Archives, Historic Charleston Foundation
a collection of property files, photographs, architectural drawings, books, pamphlets, technical reports, and videos pertaining to architecture, historic preservation, Charleston and South Carolina history, archaeology, building arts, decorative arts, and gardens.
South Carolina Historical Society
The state's largest private repository of manuscripts and heritage resources. Housed in the Addlestone Library at the College of Charleston.
Waring Historical Library, the Medical University of South Carolina
The special collections and rare book library for the Medical University of South Carolina. Named for Joseph I. Waring, Jr., the first director of the Historical Library, the library houses books, journals, manuscript items and museum artifacts dealing with the history of the health sciences.
Statewide Archives & Repositories
South Carolina Department of Archives & History (Columbia)
The mission of the Department of Archives and History is to preserve and promote the documentary and cultural heritage of the state through archival care and preservation, records management, public access, historic preservation, and education.
Presbyterian College Archives & Special Collections (Clinton)
The Presbyterian College Archives contains papers, publications, photographs, clippings, and other materials which document the history, organization, and development of Presbyterian College. Because of the College’s close ties with the Presbyterian Church and Thornwell Home, the collection also includes materials on these institutions.
University of South Carolina – South Caroliniana Library – Manuscript Division (Columbia)
Holdings of Manuscripts Division include letters, diaries, and other unpublished papers of families and individuals; genealogical collections; broadsides; plantation account books; non-USC dissertations dealing with S.C. history; and information collected by the Works Progress Administration (WPA), regarding folklore, local history, etc. The Division also holds records of churches, clubs, and other organizations, as well as business records of small country stores, large textile mills, and other concerns.
Furman University Special Collections & Archives (Greenville)
The mission of Special Collections and Archives is to collect, arrange, preserve, and make accessible a variety of primary and secondary research materials documenting the history and people of Furman University, Greenville Woman's College, Greenville, the South Carolina Upstate, South Carolina Baptists, and twenty and twenty-first century poets in this state.
Louise Pettus Archives & Special Collections at Winthrop University (Rock Hill)
Repository for historically valuable records relating to the history of Winthrop University and South Carolina, particularly the heritage of the Catawba Region (Chester, York, Union and Lancaster counties).
Wofford College Archives & Special Collections
Holds a range of unique or scarce materials including the College’s legacy library collection, manuscripts and ephemera in the Broadus R. Littlejohn Jr. Collection, and fine books and prints in the Leonard Baskin Collection, among others.
Converse College Harriet Quimby Collection
Converse College is the national location of a collection of research papers, news articles, photographs, and other documents concerning Harriet Quimby’s life and accomplishments.
College Quick Links