Family History and Genealogy: Church Records

Collection includes by-laws (1895), correspondence (1891-1921), ephemera, financial accounts and receipts (1891-1922), and property records (1900-1917). Also included is a small collection of baptismal records (ca. 1900-1909), and an ink drawing of the chapel made by its architect, W.W. DeVeaux (ca. 1891). Much of this material is available on microfiche:

• Treasurer's Records 1891-1903 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/21A)
• Treasurer's Records 1903-1922 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/21B)
• Vestry Minutes, 1905 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/21C)
• Miscellaneous 1892-1922 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/21D)

Collection includes financial accounts (1961), a register of baptisms, marriages, and burials (1855-1907), a register of church services (1955-1961), and vestry minutes (1842-1961). Some of this material is available on microfiche:

• Register, 1855-1907
  (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/49)

Collection consists of a typescript copy of a register of baptisms, marriages, and burials (1739-1885). These early records include services performed at the Church of the Redeemer as well as at "the earliest Episcopal Church in Orangeburg and Amelia Townships." A three-page introductory note at the beginning of this volume discusses the location of early Episcopal churches in the lower part of St. Matthews Parish. Much or all of this material is also available on microfiche:

• Register 1739-1885 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/03)

This oversize bound volume contains a handwritten transcription of the "Births, Baptisms and Burials, which have happened in the said Parish, being transcribed from the old Register & from the private minutes of the late Revd. Lewis Jones..." The register is a compilation begun in 1752 by William Gough (1703-1758), and is arranged alphabetically by name. Entries date between 1700 and 1824. Fay Jenkins copied these records ca. 1904. Much or all of this material is available on microfiche:

• Register 1710-1818 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/07)
• Vestry Minutes 1726-1812 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/08)

Handwritten copy (ca. 1875) of the St. Helena Parish register containing annotations (ca. 1875-1900) in pencil. The register contains an alphabetical listing of the names of individuals, their parents' names, birth dates, wedding dates, spouses' names, death dates, ages (at death), and causes of death. Much or all of this material is available on microfiche:

• St. Helena Parish register, 1722-1900 (bulk 1722-1816) (S.C. Historical Society microform: 50/127)

The vestry book of St. Stephen's Parish Church, 1754-1873 (one volume; available on microfiche, SCHS 54/11), contains records of church business, salaries, annual elections, and church construction and repair. A note, written sometime in the nineteenth century, states that the early vestry records (1754-1802) were copied from the original St. Stephen's vestry book, which was burned in 1865. There are three periods for which there are no entries: 1780-1784, 1803-1849, and 1859-1868. An associated collection of loose papers (ca. 30 items), covering the period 1869-1888, includes correspondence, records of meetings, and a historical sketch of the parish. Post-Civil War correspondence between Rev. P.F. Stevens, W. Mazyck Porcher, and John S. Palmer discusses efforts to reopen the church and sell glebe property.

The register of the United Chapels of St. Stephen's and St. John's (one volume; available on microfiche, SCHS 54/44) covers two distinct time periods. The first period (1828-1844) includes names and dates for baptisms, marriages, and funerals performed predominantly by Episcopal minister David Irving Campell. These services were performed on plantations in the region as well as at the chapels of ease in the parishes of St. Stephen's and St. John's, Berkeley (modern Berkeley County, S.C.), Pineville (St. Stephen's), the Rocks (Upper St. John's, and Black Oak (Middle St. John's). The second period of entries covers the years 1876-1890, during which time the Reverends J.V. Welch, H.H. Phelps, and Bishop William Bell Howe performed missionary work in the parishes of St. Stephen's and St. John's, Berkeley. Thus the names recorded here may represent African Americans in that region.

• Records 1754-1888 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/11)

Records consist of correspondence (1927-1957), financial records (1850-1956), registers of baptisms, marriages, and funerals (1834-1861), and registers of church services at St. Peter's (1939-1967). Also included are records of several auxiliary organizations, including minutes of the St. Peter's Education Society (1839-1849), the Reorganzied Men of St. Peter's Episcopal Church (1952-1955), and the St. Peter's Church Laymen's League (1936-1937). Much of this material is available on microfilm:

• Treasurer's Book, 1856-1867 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/17A)
• Accounts 1886-1926 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/17B)
• Receipts 1854-1866(S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/17C)
• Vestry Minutes 1876-1927 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/17D)
• Miscellaneous 1906-1945 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/17E)
• Education Society Minutes, 1839-1852 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/17F)
• Reorganization 1827-1830 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/18A & B)
• Vestry Minutes, 1942-1957 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/18D)
• Miscellaneous 1934-1957 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/18F)
• Service Register 1939-1958 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/18G)

Mabel L. Webber used both the original records and Langdon Cheves' copy to produce an incomplete copy of the register in her article "The Register of Christ Church Parish," South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, v. 18-22 (1917-1921). Binding broken. Original records (from which this document was made) are available on microfiche:

• Records, 1674-1865 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/24 & 26)
• Records 1700-1847 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/26)

Typescript copies of the Register and the Vestry Journal of the Parish of All Saints, Waccamaw, South Carolina with handwritten corrections and annotations.
Transcript (carbon) copies of the Register (1819-1935) of the Parish of All Saints, Waccamaw, South Carolina was transcribed by Florence Turner for a 1936 WPA Project sponsored by the University of South Carolina. Includes an index to the names of individuals listed in the records of baptisms, marriages, confirmations, burials, and communicants.
Transcript copies of the minutes from the Vestry Journal (1844-1872) were transcribed by Susan L. Allston (ca. 1931). The complete Journal "is continued until the storm of 1893." Includes a diagram of the church listing the owners of the pews and information about finances and church maintenance.
Also included is a volume containing a typewritten transcription (n.d.) of vestry minutes dating from 1844 to 1893. Some of this material is available on microfiche:

• Register, 1819-1935 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 50/76)
• Vestry Minutes, 1844-1872 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 50/77)
• Vestry Minutes, 1844-1893 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/34)

This collection includes transcripts of early church records dating from 1714 into the 1800s. These are found in a typescript volume entitled "St. Andrew's Church and Parish Register," which records births from 1715 to 1783; christenings, 1719-1896 (none recorded between 1775 and 1875); marriages, 1714-1774; and burials, 1718-1899 (none recorded between 1786 and 1890). A final section in this volume is a transcription of the "Record of St. Andrew's Parish from 1830 to 1859" listing batptisms, marriages, and burials officiated by Rev. Paul Trapier, Rev. J. Adams, Rev. W. Hanckel, Rev. John G. Drayton, and Rev. J. S. Hanckel. Most of the typescript register published in: South Carolina Historical Magazine, vols. 12-15 (1911-1914). Some of this material is available on microfiche:

• Register 1719-1783 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/29)

Transcript records, 1708-1899; lists of births (1708-1783); christenings (1719-84, 1876-9); marriages (1714-74) and burials (1718-74, 1891-99). Register, 1830-59

The register of the United Chapels of St. Stephen's and St. John's covers two distinct time periods. The first period (1828-1844) includes names and dates for baptisms, marriages, and funerals performed predominantly by Episcopal minister David Irving Campell. These services were performed on plantations in the region as well as at the chapels of ease in the parishes of St. Stephen's and St. John's, Berkeley (modern Berkeley County, S.C.), Pineville (St. Stephen's), the Rocks (Upper St. John's, and Black Oak (Middle St. John's). The second period of entries covers the years 1876-1890, during which time the Reverends J.V. Welch, H.H. Phelps, and Bishop William Bell Howe performed missionary work in the parishes of St. Stephen's and St. John's, Berkeley. Thus the names recorded here may represent African Americans in that region. Some of this material is available on microfiche:

• Register 1819-1884 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/44

Collection consists of vestry minutes (1846-1855), which are available on microfiche:

• Vestry Minutes, 1846-1854 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/45

This collection includes a 1706 conveyance from the estate of Landgrave Edmund Bellinger for the land on which the first church of St. Paul's Parish was built. The remainder of the material date from after the American Revolution. Included are circular and general correspondence (1787-1864); vestry minutes (1786-1864); records of the construction of a new church (1786-ca. 1809), including subscription lists, bids, and architectural drawings; and financial records (1784-1869) including accounts and receipts. Frederick Dalcho and Philip Gadsden figure prominently among the correspondents. Some of this material is available on microfiche:

• Vestry Minutes, 1786-1864 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/58)
• Cash Book, 1809-1869 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/59)
• Account Book, 1815-1822 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/60)

Records consist of vestry minutes (1872-1942), in three volumes. One small volume contains mostly rough minutes (1872-1903), but the other volumes (both oversize) contain full minutes for the period of 1874 to 1942. These volumes are available on microfiche:

• Vestry Minutes 1929-1942 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/18C)
• Vestry Minutes, 1874-1903 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/18E)

Collection consists of financial accounts (ca. 1822-1852), registers (1808-1935), vestry minutes (1788-1919), and miscellaneous loose papers.
The registers of baptisms, marriages, and burials are in two volumes. The first volume (1808-1865) includes lists of communicants (1840-1864, white and colored), and a record of colored baptisms (1813-1865, infants and adults). The second volume (1866-1935) also includes lists of colored communicants (1866-1879).
Miscellaneous loose papers include lists of communicants, baptisms, marriages, confirmations and burials (1808-1942), property records (1819-1917), and information about the dedication of St. Matthew's Chapel at Providence (Sumter District, S.C.) in 1856. Materials in fragile condition. Please use microfiche copies:

• Vestry Minutes, 1808-1863
  (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/50)
• Register 1866-1937(S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/51)
• Account Book, 1826-1852
  (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/52)
• Vestry Minutes 1788-1844 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/53)

Collection includes vestry minutes (1729-1779), a register of baptisms, marriages, and burials (1713-1769), and loose papers (1764-1778). The vestry minutes are contained in two overlapping volumes (1729-1756; 1736-1779). The records kept during the years 1729-1733 represent meetings of the vestry of Prince George Parish, Winyah. The register, which is contained in the earlier volume of vestry minutes, begins with "a catalogue of persons names born and baptized in this place called Black River Winyaw before the same was constituted into a distinct parish." Typed transcriptions of the vestry minutes and register are included in two volumes. This material is also available on microfiche:

• Register 1713-1760, Vestry Minutes 1729-1754 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/04)
• Vestry Minutes 1713-1778 (Typescript) (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/05)
• Register 1713-1794, Vestry Minutes 1763-1777 (Typescript) (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/05)
• Vestry Minutes, 1756-1779 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/37

Records include one folder of loose materials and six volumes: an address book of members (1855), vestry minutes (1866-1880), a register of baptisms (1833-1865), a register of marriages (1822-1860), a register of burials (1822-1865), and a register of marriages, baptisms, confirmations, and burials (1867-1880). The register of baptisms includes a note (p. 49-51) concerning the fate of the church communion silver, which was "seized & divided by Sherman's troops that burnt the Capital of the State." A postscript states that in 1866 the church's tankard was returned to the church through a North Carolina woman "who ransomed the same from one of Sherman's men who was trying to find a purchaser for it." Much or all of this material is available on microfiche:

• Records 1822-1880 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/12)
• Register 1833-1865 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/12B)
• Register 1867-1880 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/13)
• Congregation List, 1855 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/14)
• Register 1822-1866
  (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/15)
• Register 1822-1860 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/16)

Records consist of vestry minutes (1743-1917), and a book of accounts (1838-1862). Typescript copies of the minutes are included, and all records dating from 1734-1874 are available on microfiche:

• Vestry Minutes, 1734-1817 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/19)
• Vestry Minutes, 1817-1874 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/20)
• Vestry Minutes, 1874-1917 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/32

Materials consist of correspondence (1849-1960), financial records (1807-1983), records of baptisms, confirmations, marriages, and deaths (1758-1971), vestry minutes (1806-1983), and miscellaneous items.
Two bound volumes contain vestry minutes and financial accounts of Wambaw Church (1806-1892). The second volume includes a clipping (p. 9) concerning the death of vestryman Charles B. Cochran, and notes (p. 27) concerning fundraising efforts for a new church building, which name the architect, carpenter, and principal donors. A third bound volume marked "Wambaw Church St. James Santee Vestry Minutes 1875-" contains minutes and accounts (1875-1983) for Wambaw Church and St. James Santee Church in McClellanville (1887-1967).
A one-volume register of baptisms, confirmations, marriages, and deaths covers the years 1758-1971 (with many gaps). Records covering the years 1758-1789 are available. A "Register of Church Services" contains records of services at St. James Church Santee, 1958 to September 1989. There is also a notebook containing records relating to the preservation and restoration of the St. James Santee "Brick Church," also known as the Wambaw Church between 1992 and 2002. It includes historical information, images of the Brick Church and Chapel of Ease, information on the Caretaker's House (also known as Wambaw House), and data on grave markers.
Miscellaneous records include materials pertaining to church property, including the building of a chapel in McClellanville (1890-1892). The vestry journal (1806-1886) and a typed transcription of the parish register (1758-1789), are available on microfiche:

• Register, 1758-1789 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/22)
• Vestry Minutes, 1806-1886 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/23)

Records include correspondence (1820-1829), vestry minutes (1822-1856), financial records (1813-1845), and legal papers from the 1820s. Also included is a journal belonging to the rector of St. Bartholomew's Parish, documenting services performed between 1818 and 1840.
St. Bartholomew's Parish (Colleton County, S.C.) was created in 1706 but a parish church was never built. Chapels of ease were built on Pon Pon River (south Edisto River) near Jacksonboro (Jacksonborough), at Edmunsbury on the west side of the Ashepoo River, and in Walterboro. The Pon Pon chapel was burned and rebuilt twice, and is commonly known as the "Burnt Church." Forms part of: Records Associated with the Diocese of South Carolina, 1771-1972. Some of this material is available on microfiche:

• Vestry Minutes 1856-1861 (S.C. Historical Society: 54/27)

One volume of financial records, detailing the church's expenses and income during the period 1834-1858. An introductory note provides a brief history of the subscription opened in 1833. An index of names is also included. This volume is in poor condition. Luckily, all of this material is available on microfiche:

• Cash Book, 1834-1858 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/30)

Collection includes vestry minutes (1882-1903), financial accounts (1878-1905), and a folder of correspondence and receipts (1895-1905). The volume of accounts includes a list of communicants (ca. 1883). These records are available on microfiche:

• Vestry Minutes, 1882-1905 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/61
• Account Book, 1882-1905
  (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/62
• Miscellaneous 1895-1905 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/63

Collection includes correspondence (1862-1902), vestry minutes (1866-1905), and an 1868 list of pew holders. The correspondence relates principally to the legal negotiation of the surrender of St. Luke's church property to the Trustees of the Protestant Episcopal Diocese of South Carolina (1898-1902). The vestry minutes conclude in 1902 with that transfer, but also include the minutes of a vestry meeting held in 1905. Some of this material is available on microfiche:

• Vestry Minutes, 1866-1886 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/35)
• Vestry Minutes, 1886-1905 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/36)

Collection consists of registers, vestry minutes, and church history. A volume entitled "Parochial Register" includes records of marriages (1706-1778), baptisms and births (1693-1778), and deaths and burials (1709-1777). Also included in this register are a record of marriages in 1794 and a catalog of books given to the parish by Governor Francis Nicholson and by the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts. A typescript copy of this register is also included in the collection.
A volume of vestry minutes (1867-1924) principally concerns church assets and finances. A volume entitled "Annals of St. Thomas and St. Denis" was compiled in 1882 by Robert Clute, parish rector. It includes a summary of births, baptisms, burials, confirmations, and marriages, lists of parishioners, and lists of rectors from 1690 to as late as 1877. It also contains information about the family and estate of Richard Beresford, who left a large bequest to the parish in 1721. This compilation was reorganized and published by Clute in 1884 as "Annals and Registers of St. Thomas and St. Denis Parish, S.C." Some of this material is available on microfiche:

• Parish History 1882 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/40
• Parish Register 1693-1778 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/42
• Records, 1693-1778 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/43

Copies of research materials abstracted and compiled by Eleanor C. Woodard. These consist of selected data from the records of Bethel Presbyterian Church (Walterboro, S.C.), including baptismal, marriage, and burial records (1844-1899) of white and colored members; a rector's journal (1818-1847) for St. Bartholomew's Parish; transcriptions of gravestone inscriptions "at the ruins of Burnt Church" (or Pon Pon); and extracts from minutes of meetings of the South Carolina Baptist Association, Savannah River (1803-1817; 1820-1926), with information on numerous South Carolina Baptist churches and their delegates including Beaver Dam Baptist Church, Coosawhatchie Baptist Church, Euhaw Baptist Church, Great Swamp Baptist Church, Hilton Head Baptist Church, May River Baptist Church, and Sardis Baptist Church. All these Baptist churches were located in Beaufort District. St. Bartholomew's Parish materials are also available on microfiche:

• Rector's Journal, 1818-1840 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/55)
• Vestry Minutes, 1822-1840 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/56)

Photocopied parish register (123 p.) listing baptisms (1877-1995), confirmations (1878-1981), communications (1877-1978), marriages (1878-1987), and burials (1879-1981). This and more material is available on microform:

• [All above-listed materials (Title on container: Sheldon Chapel Parish Registers)] (S.C. Historical Society microfilm: 45/334)
• Register 1825-1876, 1907-1932 (S.C. Historical Society microfiche: 54/64)