LibGuides: FYSE 141 Travel for Transformation: Journeys of (Self) Discovery -- Smith: Home

Ebook: Grandma Gatewood's Walk

Grandma Gatewood's Walk: The Inspiring Story of the Woman Who Saved the Appalachian Trail by Ben Montgomery
Emma Gatewood told her family she was going on a walk and left her small Ohio hometown with a change of clothes and less than two hundred dollars. The next anybody heard from her, this genteel, farm-reared, sixty-seven-year-old great-grandmother had walked 800 miles along the 2,050-mile Appalachian Trail. And in September 1955, atop Maine's Mount Katahdin, she sang the first verse of "America, the Beautiful" and proclaimed, "I said I'll do it, and I've done it." Grandma Gatewood, as the reporters called her, became the first woman to hike the entire Appalachian Trail alone, as well as the first person-man or woman-to walk it twice and three times. The public attention she brought to the little-known footpath was unprecedented. Her vocal criticism of the lousy, difficult stretches led to bolstered maintenance and very likely saved the trail from extinction.

Search for books, articles, and more.

These databases (and more) are available via the A-Z Databases list.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Librarian-curated collection of award-winning reference works with extensive subject coverage.
Post and Courier Collection with Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Coverage for the Post and Courier: 1873 to present from NewsBank's Access World News.
SCIWAY - South Carolina's Information Highway This link opens in a new window
Provides thousands of links to other South Carolina websites. Organized by subject area. Includes articles, maps, calendars and photos.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.

These guides may also be of interest.

CRAAP Test Worksheet
Use this worksheet to evaluate the sources that you find via the CofC Libraries subscription databases and the Web.

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes full ONLINE text access to the MLA Handbook, the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy, and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature as well a video course demonstrating the fundamentals of MLA documentation.