Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Why background research helps
Getting background information and general facts about your topic is a good way to start your research. This not only helps you better understand your topic, but it also helps you formulate the boundaries of your research and key terms for your thesis statement. It can be a helpful guide to begin to narrow down your topic into a coherent and specific area.
Credo is a library database containing digital versions of encyclopedias and other reference works. Think of it as an academic Wikipedia, only curated by librarians instead of the general public.
Finding Background Info in Books
College of Charleston libraries use the Library of Congress classification system to organize print materials, which means books on the same subject should be next to or near each other on the shelf. This information can be used to find books in person or via the Library Catalog.
Library of Congress call number ranges:
- GC Oceanography
- QH91 - QH100 Marine & Aquatic Biology
- QH323.5 - QH324.9 Biometry, Biomathematics
- QH425 - QH499 Genetics
- QH540 - QH541.5 Ecology & Marine Ecology
- QK103 - QK105 Marine & Freshwater Flora
- QK930 - QK935 Marine & Freshwater Plant Ecology
- QL360 - QL364 Marine Invertebrates
- QL370 - QL374 Porifera
- QL375 - QL379 Coelenterata
- QL380 Etenophora
- QL381 - QL385 Echinodermata
- QL386 - QL393 Vermes
- QL401 - QL432 Mollusca
- QL435 - QL450 Crustacea
- QL472 Aquatic Insects
- QL614 - QL639.8 Fishes
- QL640 - QL669.3 Reptiles & Amphibians
- QL713 Aquatic Mammals
- QL737.C4 - QL737.C438 Cetacea
- QL795 Animal Behavior
- QP501 - QP517 Animal Biochemistry
- QP551- QP619 Proteins, Amino Acids
- QR105 - QR106 Aquatic & Marine Microbiology
- SH Aquaculture, Fisheries, Angling
- TP248.2 - TP248.27 Biotechnology, Marine Biotechnology
Explore for yourself at Library of Congress classification system
Other Resources for Background Info
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized, continuously updated entries from Oxfords dictionaries, companions, and encyclopedias, spanning 25 different subject areas including archaeology, classical studies, linguistics, philosophy, and more.
ScienceDaily features news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more -- from leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations.
Wikipedia is useful for getting background information on your topic. But remember that anybody can edit Wikipedia articles, so their provenance or authority is hard to evaluate. A strong article includes references to scholarly material, so pay attention to the citations used within the Wikipedia article.
Encyclopedia of Marine Science by An invaluable reference, Encyclopedia of Marine Science explores the principal areas and issues of this core science discipline in more than 600 entries, 20 essays, and more than 200 black-and-white photographs and line illustrations. This comprehensive encyclopedia brings together information on marine science from its component and affiliate sciences, along with information on technology, commerce, business, society, history, and more. Detailed entries cover concepts, technologies, phenomena, organisms, treaties and legal issues, research stations, places and geographical features, vessels, experiments, marine sanctuaries, scientists and lawmakers, programmes, organisations, occupations and careers, and other subjects related to marine science. Spanning 1872 to the present, this resource concentrates on developments since World War II, including organisations, people, concepts, and laws of international or regional importance. Designed for high school and college students, Encyclopedia of Marine Science is extensively cross-referenced and indexed to increase its accessibility to students and teachers.
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
The Facts on File Dictionary of Marine Science by Thoroughly updated and expanded, ""The Facts On File Dictionary of Marine Science, New Edition"" contains more than 2,750 entries - approximately 300 new to this edition - dealing with the basic vocabulary of marine science. This new edition features the most up-to-date terms and explanatory charts and graphs related to the areas of water chemistry; marine ecosystems; physical features of oceans, such as reefs, coastlines, and tides; currents and their effects; and plants and animals that dwell in the oceans. The back matter has been revised, and new line illustrations have been added.
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
Encyclopedia of Fish Physiology by Fish form an extremely diverse group of vertebrates. At a conservative estimate at least 40% of the world's vertebrates are fish. On the one hand they are united by their adaptations to an aquatic environment and on the other they show a variety of adaptations to differing environmental conditions - often to extremes of temperature, salinity, oxygen level and water chemistry. They exhibit an array of behavioural and reproductive systems. Interesting in their own right, this suite of adaptive physiologies provides many model systems for both comparative vertebrate and human physiologists. This four volume encyclopedia covers the diversity of fish physiology in over 300 articles and provides entry level information for students and summary overviews for researchers alike. Broadly organised into four themes, articles cover Functional, Thematic, and Phylogenetic Physiology, and Fish Genomics Functional articles address the traditional aspects of fish physiology that are common to all areas of vertebrate physiology including: Reproduction, Respiration, Neural (Sensory, Central, Effector), Endocrinology, Renal, Cardiovascular, Acid-base Balance, Osmoregulation, Ionoregulation, Digestion, Metabolism, Locomotion, and so on. Thematic Physiology articles are carefully selected and fewer in number. They provide a level of integration that goes beyond the coverage in the Functional Physiology topics and include discussions of Toxicology, Air-breathing, Migrations, Temperature, Endothermy, etc. Phylogenetic Physiology articles bring together information that bridges the physiology of certain groupings of fishes where the knowledge base has a sufficient depth and breadth and include articles on Ancient Fishes, Tunas, Sharks, etc. Genomics articles describe the underlying genetic component of fish physiology and high light their suitability and use as model organisms for the study of disease, stress and physiological adaptations and reactions to external conditions. Winner of a 2011 PROSE Award Honorable Mention for Multivolume Science Reference from the Association of American Publishers The definitive encyclopedia for the field of fish physiology Three volumes which comprehensively cover the entire field in over 300 entries written by experts Detailed coverage of basic functional physiology of fishes, physiological themes in fish biology and comparative physiology amongst taxonomic Groups Describes the genomic bases of fish physiology and biology and the use of fish as model organisms in human physiological research Includes a glossary of terms
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by This thorough revision of the classic Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals brings this authoritative book right up-to-date. Articles describe every species in detail, based on the very latest taxonomy, and a host of biological, ecological and sociological aspects relating to marine mammals. The latest information on the biology, ecology, anatomy, behavior and interactions with man is provided by a cast of expert authors - all presented in such detail and clarity to support both marine mammal specialists and the serious naturalist. Fully referenced throughout and with a fresh selection of the best color photographs available, the long-awaited second edition remains at the forefront as the go-to reference on marine mammals.
Publication Date: 2008-12-04
Encyclopedia of Modern Coral Reefs by Coral reefs are the largest landforms built by plants and animals. Their study therefore incorporates a wide range of disciplines. This encyclopedia approaches coral reefs from an earth science perspective, concentrating especially on modern reefs. Currently coral reefs are under high stress, most prominently from climate change with changes to water temperature, sea level and ocean acidification particularly damaging. Modern reefs have evolved through the massive environmental changes of the Quaternary with long periods of exposure during glacially lowered sea level periods and short periods of interglacial growth. The entries in this encyclopedia condense the large amount of work carried out since Charles Darwin first attempted to understand reef evolution. Leading authorities from many countries have contributed to the entries covering areas of geology, geography and ecology, providing comprehensive access to the most up-to-date research on the structure, form and processes operating on Quaternary coral reefs.
Publication Date: 2011-02-03
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences by Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences 2e is a new 6-volume online reference work, pulling together all the key information in one source from the leading publisher in the field. This second edition is online, offering the user greater flexibility, accessibility, and most importantly, usability with 24 hour access, multi-user access, remote access and excellent search functionality. Structured for success, each article contains a glossary, an introduction, a reference section and a wealth of cross-referenced links to premium and related material all accessible in a mouse-click, making complicated, time consuming research a thing of the past. *Approximately 500 articles covering the breadth and depth of the field with over 30% new and updated content reflecting the latest research in the field *Greater coverage of climate, remote sensing, and data modeling, with greater consideration of economic and political aspects provides a broad view of the field *Online availability facilitates easier research and increased productivity
Publication Date: 2009-11-04
College Quick Links