Marine Biology Research: Find Sources

• Citation databases - Often discipline specific, like ASFA and Zoological Record, or broader in scope like Web of Science. They describe articles using indexing terminology and article abstracts. These databases are the premier place to discover quality articles and usually have comprehensive searching features. See Link Resolver for accessing full text.

• Discovery Search - This one-stop search tool found on the library home page search platform is a good place to start searching across nearly all of our physical and online resources. But like trawling with a small-mesh net you'll catch a lot of everything! Use abstract/index databases for more precise search strategies.

• Full text databases/publisher platforms - Often broad in scope, like Academic Search Complete or ScienceDirect (Elsevier publisher platform) or discipline specific like American Chemical Society journals. These databases offer full text access to subscribed content. Not all content is guaranteed to be available in full text.

• Journal Finder - Found on the library home page search platform. If you wish to explore a specific journal, use the Journal Finder to search for the journal by name and identify online access points and print holdings in the libraries.

• Link Resolver - Branded as Find It At CofC the link resolver will help you identify full text access points when you are in a citation database, or Google Scholar (if you've configured Library Links in Scholar). It also offers you pre-populated Interlibrary Loan request forms when we need to get you the item from another library. Look for the Find It At CofC link in your search results or individual article records.

NOAA Institutional Repository
The National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration's digital library contains NOAA publications from numerous subsets of NOAA, including the National Ocean Service and National Marine Fisheries Service. Includes technical reports and memoranda.

National Sea Grant Library
The NSGL is the digital library for NOAA’s Sea Grant documents.  It includes numerous subjects including oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation, and law. 

National Technical Report Library
Developed by the National Technical Information Service, the NTRL is a searchable library including PDF scans of technical reports across many disciplines.

AquaDocs
AquaDocs is a thematic repository covering the natural marine, coastal, estuarine /brackish and fresh water environments and includes all aspects of the science, technology, management and conservation of these environments, their organisms and resources, and the economic, sociological and legal aspects. This repository is a synthesis of the OceanDocs and Aquatic Commons repositories.

HaithiTrust Digital Library
This collection contains digitized titles held by academic and research institutions globally. It covers most disciplines and is particularly useful for accessing older works, especially those out of copyright.