Skip to Main Content
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Discover CofC Libraries
The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including academic/scholarly journal articles, print books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!
Advanced Discovery Search
While the single search box from Discovery allows for quick and abbreviated searches, using the Advanced Discovery will let you be more granular in what terms you are searching.
Secondary sources offer an analysis or a restatement of primary sources. They often attempt to describe or explain primary sources. Some secondary sources not only analyze primary sources, but also use them to argue a contention or persuade the reader to hold a certain opinion. Secondary sources are not evidence, but rather commentary on and discussion of evidence.
Note: The definition of a secondary source may vary depending upon the discipline or context.
- Historical Monographs
- Journal articles
- Bibliographies (also considered tertiary)
- Biographical works
- Commentaries, criticisms
- Dictionaries, Encyclopedias (also considered tertiary)
- Magazine and newspaper articles (this distinction varies by discipline)
- Textbooks (also considered tertiary)
- Web site (also considered primary)
Digital Secondary Sources: Academic Journals and Databases
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project Muse - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
MUSE offers complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social science.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full-text journals and magazines, thousands of peer-reviewed journals, access to over 1,400 journals without an embargo, over 2,000 journals indexed in Web of Science and Scopus, and more.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Worlds most comprehensive international collection of dissertations and theses, spanning from 1743 to the present day.
World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in world history from ancient times to the present.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts in over 40 languages to historical literature (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
Finding and Using eBooks
Learn how to use eBooks, including reading online and downloading in various platforms.
How to Use eBooks
College Quick Links