LibGuides: Streaming Media & Media Resources at the Addlestone Library: Images

Library Image Databases

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Oxfords acclaimed, regularly updated art reference works: the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. In addition, users can search and access Oxford art reference titles including the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

Linking streaming media in OAKS - Permalink

When creating a link to streaming media in OAKS, it is necessary to use the permalink generated by that media. This is the permanent, static hyperlink to that media. This is also know as a persistant link. These permalinks can be found in the same area as the media embed code within the media record.

Do not use the hyperlink shown in the top of the browser. This link is temporarily generated in the browser.

Other Image Databases

Encyclopedia of Life (Full Text)
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an ambitious project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth. At its heart lies a series of Web sites—one for each of the approximately 1.8 million known species. Each site is constantly evolving and features dynamically synthesized content ranging from historical literature and biological descriptions to stunning images, videos and distribution maps.

Europeana This link opens in a new window
Europeana links to 2 million digital items from museums and galleries, archives, libraries, and audio-visual collections.

GOOGLE Images
GOOGLE Images is the mother of all image databases since it pulls in images from all over the internet. However, to insure you get only copyright free images, you should set the Usage Rights field to "free to use, modify and share, even commercially."

This field is found in "Advanced Search."

Streaming Media & Media Resources at the Addlestone Library: Images

Library Image Databases

Linking streaming media in OAKS - Permalink

Other Image Databases

Contact

Location

College Quick Links