Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
CofC Logo

Streaming Media & Media Resources at the Addlestone Library: Library Streaming Databases

1

Your first line of video/film access is via our current streaming databasesWe subscribe to four streaming video databases and eight streaming audio databases.  Our video streaming services are Academic Video Online (aka VAST) from Alexander Street Press, Films on Demand from Films Media Group (aka: Films for the Sciences and Humanities), Kanopy, and Met Opera.   Our streaming audio services are Naxos Music Library, Oxford Music Online and six subsets of the Alexander Street suite including American Music Library, Classical Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Popular Music Library

A faculty member needing a video title for a course is encouraged to search these databases for that title. These databases can be accessed by students and faculty from their alphabetical link in the Databases section of the Addlestone Library website.  Also, direct access to these databases and information about them are available in the LIBRARY STREAMING DATABASES.


Using Streaming Video in a Course:  Some of the streaming videos in our catalog have usage restrictions or are leased titles that can be removed from our subscription during the course of the semester. For this reason, we strongly recommend that you notify us by using the following form if you are assigning a library resource in class so that we can look at the library's current options and examine any upgrade options available so that we can try to gain an appropriate level of access for use in your courses:

Library Materials Access Notification Form

Video Streaming Databases

Audio Streaming Databases

Accessing Streaming Databases from Off Campus

When you try to access a streaming database from off-campus, you will be directed to a page asking you to log in with your MyCharleston account name and password.  Follow the instructions below to log in.

College of Charleston Students and Faculty
Log in with the same name and password used to access your MyCharleston account.

MRL Fort Johnson and Field Station Users
Use ID and password supplied by the Marine Resources Library. Use all lowercase characters.
Contact the MRL at 843.953.9370 or 
mrlserials@cofc.edu for assistance.

Contact

Location