Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
CofC Logo

Collection Development: Collection Highlights

Provides information about the collections building process for the College of Charleston libraries.

 

 

Faculty Selected New eBooks

Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, and Inclusion in Museums Cover Art
OutWrite: The Speeches that Shaped LGBTQ Literary Culture Cover Art
Entering the Way of the Bodhisattva: A New Translation and Contemporary Guide Cover Art
Common Ground: Second Language Acquisition Theory Goes to the Classroom Cover Art
Better Living by Their Own Bootstraps: Black Women's Activism in Rural Arkansas, 1914-1965 Cover Art
Ideas to Postpone the End of the World Cover Art
Managing Arts Organizations Cover Art
In the Street: Democratic Action, Theatricality, and Political Friendship Cover Art
Mexican American Religions: An Introduction Cover Art
Unauthorized Love: Mixed-Citizenship Couples Negotiating Intimacy, Immigration, and the State Cover Art
Dance, Access and Inclusion: Perspectives on Dance, Young People and Change Cover Art
Undead Souths: The Gothic and Beyond in Southern Literature and Culture Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Freedom Cover Art
Active Coral Restoration: Techniques for a Changing Planet Cover Art
The Handbook of Diverse Economies Cover Art
The Roman Peasant Project 2009-2014: Excavating the Roman Rural Poor Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Islamic Archaeology Cover Art
Lima :: Limón Cover Art
Electrify: An Optimist's Playbook for Our Clean Energy Future Cover Art
On Justice: Philosophy, History, Foundations Cover Art
The Hours Have Lost Their Clock: The Politics of Nostalgia Cover Art
Public Memory, Race, and Heritage Tourism of Early America Cover Art
Decolonizing Wealth: Indigenous Wisdom to Heal Divides and Restore Balance Cover Art
Indigenous Children's Survivance in Public Schools Cover Art
Thinking German Translation: A Course in Translation Method: German to English Cover Art

 

 

College of Charleston Faculty Author Spotlights

origin story: poems

origin story: poems (2021) by Gary Jackson

origin story outlines a family history of distant sisters, grieving mothers and daughters, and alcoholic fathers. These poems take us from Kansas to Korea and back again in an attempt to reconnect with estranged family and familial ghosts divided by years of diaspora.

Gary Jackson is an Associate Professor in the Department of English and the Director of Undergraduate Creative Writing.

Teaching Electronic Music: Cultural, Creative, and Analytical Perspectives

Teaching Electronic Music: Cultural, Creative, and Analytical Perspectives (2022) Edited by Blake Stevens

Teaching Electronic Music offers innovative and practical techniques for teaching electronic music in a wide range of classroom settings.

Blake Stevens is an Associate Professor of Music History in the Department of Music.

Women and Pilgrimage

Women and Pilgrimage (2022) Eds. Moore E. Quinn and Alison T. Smith

Women and Pilgrimage presents scholarly essays that address the lacunae in the literature on this topic. The content includes well-trodden domains of pilgrimage scholarship like sacred sites and holy places.

Moore Quinn is a Professor of Anthology in the Department of Sociology and Anthology.

Challenging History: Race, Equity, and the Practice of Public History (2021) Eds.

Challenging History: Race, Equity, and the Practice of Public History (2021) Eds. Leah Worthington, John White, and Rachel Clare Donaldson

Challenging History, through a collection of essays by a diverse group of scholars and practitioners, examines how difficult histories, specifically those of slavery and race in the United States, are being interpreted and inserted at public history sites and in public history work.

Leah Worthington is co-director of the Lowcountry Digital History Initiative and associate director of the Lowcountry Digital Library at the College of Charleston. Rachel Clare Donaldson is an Assistant Professor of Public History in the Department of History. John White is founding director of the Lowcountry Digital History Initiative and Dean of Libraries the the College of Charleston.

Philosophical Letters, Abridged

Philosophical Letters, Abridged (2021) Edited by Deborah Boyle

The Philosophical Letters (1664) gives us Margaret Cavendish's view of what was interesting and important in the philosophical world at that moment, a view of philosophy as it was at the time by an engaged participant.

Deborah Boyle is a Professor in the Department of Philosophy.

Health and Healing in the Early Modern Iberian World: A Gendered Perspective

Health and Healing in the Early Modern Iberian World: A Gendered Perspective (2021) by Margaret Boyle and Sarah Owens

Recognizing the variety of health experiences across geographical borders, Health and Healing in Early Modern Iberian World interrogates the concepts of "health" and "healing" between 1500 and 1800.

Sarah Owens is a Professor Spanish in the Department of Hispanic Studies and the Director of First Year Experience at the College of Charleston.

Freedoms Gained and Lost: Reconstruction and Its Meanings 150 Years Later

Freedoms Gained and Lost: Reconstruction and Its Meanings 150 Years Later (2022) Eds. Adam Domby and Simon Lewis

Reconstruction is one the most complex, overlooked, and misunderstood periods of American history. The thirteen essays in Freedoms Gained and Lost address the multiple struggles to make good on President Abraham Lincoln's promise of a "new birth of freedom" in the years following the Civil War, as well as the counter-efforts including historiographical ones - to undermine those struggles.

Simon Lewis is a Professor in the Department of English.

Envisioning the Framework: A Graphic Guide to Information Literacy

Envisioning the Framework: A Graphic Guide to Information Literacy (2021) Edited by Jannette Finch

Twenty-first-century information literacy involves the metaliterate learner, reflects seismic changes in the duties and roles of teaching librarians, requires new partnerships with faculty and instructional designers, and emphasizes continuous assessment practices. Envisioning the Framework can help you use symbols and visuals for deeper understanding of the Framework, to map the Framework with teaching and learning objectives, and to tell a coherent story to students featuring the frames and the Framework.

Jannette Finch is a Research & Instruction Librarian and the Graduate Engagement Coordinator and the College Libraries.

Strange Gods: Love and Idolatry in the Victorian Novel

Strange Gods: Love and Idolatry in the Victorian Novel (2022) by Timothy Carens

Strange Gods traces the concerns produced in Protestant culture by this broad interpretation of idolatry.

Timothy Carens in a Professor in the Department of English and the Director of the Literature and Film and British Studies minor programs.

Collection Management in the Cloud: A Guide for Using Cloud Computing Technologies in Libraries

Collection Management in the Cloud: A Guide for Using Cloud Computing Technologies in Libraries (2022) by Kayla Kipps and Allison Kaiser Jones

Collection Management in the Cloud discusses the benefits of using powerful cloud-based and little to no additional cost technology tools through the lens of a particular area in librarianship such as documentation, data and project management, communication, data storage, and data visualization. 

Kayla Kipps is the Collection Development Librarian at the College of Charleston Libraries. Allison Kaiser Jones is the Electronic Resources and Serials Librarian at the College of Charleston Libraries.

Applied Corporate Finance: Making Value-Enhancing Decisions in the Real World

Applied Corporate Finance: Making Value-Enhancing Decisions in the Real World (2021) by Mark Pyles

Applied Corporate Finance helps students truly understand how to apply the principles behind corporate finance in a real world context from both a firm and investor perspective. In its second edition, this text focuses on traditional theory applied to a holistic and realistic business case study, written as a novel set in current times so that all readers can relate.

Mark Pyles is a Professor in the Department of Finance and the Director of the School of Business Investment Program.

Russian Studies, Political Science, and the Philosophy of Technology

Russian Studies, Political Science, and the Philosophy of Technology (2022) Eds. Guoli Liu and Joanna Drzewieniecki

Russian Studies, Political Science, and the Philosophy of Technology presents state-of-the-art creative scholarship in political science and area studies with an emphasis on Russia. The contributors, all well-known in their specialties, share the conviction that advancement in the social sciences can only be achieved through plural methodological approaches and interaction with various disciplines.

Guoli Liu is a Professor in the Department of Political Science.

Dreams Beyond Time: On Sacred Encounter and Spiritual Transformation

Dreams Beyond Time: On Sacred Encounter and Spiritual Transformation (2022) by Lee Irwin

Dreams Beyond Time offers readers an overview of dreams research as applied to non-ordinary dreams. Lee Irwin describes four basic types of dreaming: normative, mythic, psychic, and transpersonal, and he illustrates each type with specific dream examples.

Lee Irwin is a Professor Emeritus in the Department of Religious Studies.

Rethinking Civil-Military Relations in Africa Book Cover

Rethinking Civil-Military Relations in Africa: Beyond the Coup d’État (2022) Eds. Moses Khisa and Christopher Day

Though Africa historically has been the site of countless military coups d'etat, civil-military relations across the continent have changed dramatically in recent years. What do these changes say about the military's ongoing role in Africa's political and social institutions? How useful are conventional models for understanding civil-military relations in the African context? The authors of Rethinking Civil-Military Relations in Africa address these questions, exploring the nature and significance of evolving relationships between political authority, military power, and society.

Christopher Day is an Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science and the Director of the African Studies program.

 

View our collection of College of Charleston faculty and staff publications at this link.

New Books

 

New Databases

Contact

Location