It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Collection Development: E-Preferred Acquisitions
Provides information about the collections building process for the College of Charleston libraries.
In light of the COVID-19 pandemic and the resulting need to pivot to hybrid or virtual learning environments, the College Libraries' will be transitioning our book acquisitions strategies towards becoming e-preferred. This means that all book requests will be considered as an e-book purchase first rather than a print purchase.
E-books provide these benefits to the College of Charleston community:
Quick Access: E-book purchases typically become available in a number of days while print purchases may take weeks and perhaps longer in the current circumstances due to delays with receiving and processing materials during the pandemic.
Accessibility: E-books can be accessed 24/7 both on-campus and remotely by anyone with active CofC credentials.
Functionality: E-book links can be embedded directly into your OAKS courses for ease of accessibility by your students. Some eBook platforms also provide additional benefits such as the ability to quickly search full-text or to highlight and add notes.
In the current e-book marketplace, there are many platforms and access models. When making your monograph requests, it is extremely important that you let us know what your specific needs are for your students and your courses in terms of potential concurrent users. This way we can ensure that we are purchasing the best access model for your needs.
Print purchases will still be considered based on the following exceptions:
Unavailability of the text in electronic format
Specific faculty request
Please be advised that print material processing will potentially be delayed during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. Please plan accordingly.
Access to thousands of electronic books covering all subject areas available from ProQuest. Authorization with College of Charleston credentials is required for this resource both on-campus and off-campus.
Award-winning digital reference database includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc. in the fields of biography, business, education, environment, history, law, current events, science and social science.
Provides access to thousands of multidisciplinary ejournals and ebooks.
Beginning in February 2022, the College of Charleston Libraries now have access to Wiley Online Library’s comprehensive collection of over 22,000 eBooks. These eBooks are available DRM-free and allow unlimited, concurrent user access.
Learn how to use eBooks, including reading online and downloading in various platforms.