Skip to Main Content
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Collection Development Resources
The following links will assist you in building library collections in your subject area.
Trial databases are listed to the right of our Databases A-Z list. Feel free to try them out and provide us with feedback through the trial database evaluation form.
Explore new books, eBooks, databases, and recent CofC faculty publications available from the library.
Welcome to your guide for
everything Collection Development
at the College of Charleston Libraries.
We are part of the Collection & Content Services department, and we are here for you as you seek to purchase materials such as books, ebooks, DVDs, journals, ejournals, and any other resources that will help support your teaching and research.
Collection Development Staff
If you're looking for your library subject liaison, click on this link and use the dropdown menu to select your discipline. Click your liaison's photo for contact information.
What Does it All Mean?
- Firm orders - These are orders for specific titles that are paid for out of each department's individual budget. Titles are selected by departmental faculty and submitted to library liaisons, who then approve the purchase and submit to the Acquisitions & Resource Management Services department who place the orders with the vendor. Visit the Firm Orders tab for more detailed information.
- Journals & Databases - Staff can request databases and serials to be included in our collection. Database and serial requests are reviewed by a committee once a year and are evaluated for quality and appropriateness for our collection.
Learn more about the College of Charleston Libraries' Read & Publish Agreements and other ways it supports Open Access publishing.
Read & Publish Agreements
Access detailed statistics about our collections, expenditures, and digital services.
College Quick Links