Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CofC Logo

Citation Styles and Citation Managers for Graduate Students: Bibliographic Managers

About Bibliographic Managers

Bibliographic Managers are also known as Citation Managers and Reference Managers.

They allow you to organize your research, group articles into folders and sub-folders, annotate and make notes, and create bibliographies or works cited lists.

Many are open source. A comprehensive list is provided in this article by Jemimah Rodriguez, in a blog post for the company GoodFirms.

The guide provided here will offer tutorials and guidance on two popular platforms: Zotero and Mendeley.

Questions to ask while selecting:

Feature Zotero Mendeley
Is it stand alone, or do I need an Internet connection? can work offline can work offline
Does it generate accurate citations?  Y Y
Does it work with a word processor? Microsoft Word? Google docs? Y Word-yes, Google docs, no
Does it allow me to share my folders, articles, and research? Y Y
Does it store items on my computer or the cloud? both both
Does it integrate with my browser? Y Y
Does it import from my library's databases? Y Y
Does it work on multiple platforms? Y Y

Zotero

Zotero has two versions:

1) ZoteroBib (zbib.org) is a web-based bibliography generator. Easy to use if all you need is to generate your bibliography, with no notation or file management needed.

screenshot zoterobib

2) Zotero full version (https://www.zotero.org/) allows you to organize, cite, annotate, and share your research, as well as create bibliographies.

screenshot taken from zotero.org

ZoteroBib (7:09)

Zotero Full (12:40)

Mendeley

(From Mendeley's website, https://www.mendeley.com/search/):
Mendeley is a free reference manager that can help you store, organize, note, share and cite references and research data:

  • Automatically generate bibliographies
  • Collaborate easily with other researchers online
  • Easily import papers from other research software
  • Find relevant papers based on what you're reading
  • Access your papers from anywhere online

Mendeley screenshot

Mendeley Tutorial (6:18)

Contact

Location