Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday – Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry. Information about access and other locations may be found in this FAQ
Welcome to the library guide for Studio Art research!
This guide compiles a variety of information and sources that will support your academic research and artistic development.
Use the tabs above or the links in the various boxes on this page to find a variety of resources in a range of formats.
The Ask Us page provides information on how to contact and receive additional help and support from your friendly librarians and library staff!
Image retrieved from the College of Charleston School of the Arts' Academic Departments Web page.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commerical art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Oxfords acclaimed, regularly updated art reference works: the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. In addition, users can search and access Oxford art reference titles including the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Over 60 million listings of many types of material (books, journals, audiovisual, etc.) cataloged by libraries around the world. Updated daily.
CofC School of Arts on Twitter
Scholars Studio Librarian
The Halsey Institute of Contemporary Art at The College of Charleston on Flickr
Additional Research Guides of Interest
Listed below are links to library research guides covering additional topics relevant to Studio Art:
College Quick Links